We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful base to explore the region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful base to explore the region”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed at Rosewood in February for my first trip to the Margaret River region and found Rosewood to be the perfect base to explore this wonderful area. The hosts Jane and Keith are so enthusiastic about the region and extemely helpful in planning our time there. In fact we booked a wine tour with Keith in his Rolls Royce which was a highlight.

We liked the central location which meant dinner at local wine bars was an easy walk. Breakfast was fantastic, beautifully cooked with huge array of local produce.

The free wifi in the room was a bonus as not usual offering in other B&B's we have stayed at.

King size bed also a bonus and the most comfortable during our road trip. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi Joe
So great to know that your trip was a success and that our king beds won your approval. I find it very satisfying to see someone enjoy their breakfast and appreciate the our cooking!

Rose Royce Tours are designed to make your day memorable which is why the tastings are before Keith leaves you to lunch at your leisure, returning to collect you when you want to come home. It is a format which is unique andso glad it suited you!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    57
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
249
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed for two nights during the March long weekend. The owners were away on vacation and we were looked after very well by Sue & Paul. We were in the Georgette room which overlooks the garden and the garden shed which is not the best view in the world. The room itself was very nice, comfortable and clean. Two things detracted from our stay, we had a large bay window which overlooked part of the garden and shed. Paul was obviously doing what was required in the garden and made frequent visits to the shed, each time walking past our window. If you require any privacy you had to have the blinds down & closed or the curtains closed. The other problem was the shower, very low water pressure and impossible to regulate the temperature, it was either cold or scalding. The lounge / breakfast room was very nice and comfortable and there was a good selection for breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the Georgette room until the shower is sorted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtrailPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Xtrail
We are very pleased that you found the room and breakfasts to your satisfaction.
It can be very challenging balancing guests' needs with all the tasks that need to be achieved during the day. Generally our guests spend most of their day exploring the region, so it was unfortunate that perhaps you were home during the times that essential duties were being performed.

We have spent a great deal of time since our return trying to recreate your shower problem. There does not seem to be a big problem that justifies your rather dramatic description... however we did detect that getting the adjustment correct before entering the shower is a good idea, we have also replaced the shower head to improve the water flow as these water saving devices can it seems create less flow.

Those two issues aside we are pleased that your overall experience was an enjoyable one and we hope that you will return!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The hosts were very attentive and professional and we were warmly welcomed. We were given advice on wineries and attractions to visit and recommendations on restaurants. The house is beautiful and the room was very comfortable with a high standard of appointments. Breakfast was well done and plentiful, with a number of home made items.

Native birds flocked to the water fountain in the beautiful garden outside the window; something you do not get in a hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and could hear people upstairs walking about. Not loud but noticeable. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi Peter
It is very relaxing watching the birds having their breakfast too! We try to ensure that we maintain Rosewood to a very high standard and it great that our guests notice!

We hope you will consider a return visit!
Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My friend and I recently stayed here and both found it excellent. The loungeroom had a queen sized bed so we had our own rooms. Everything was cosy, clean and comforting. After staying in an awful hotel in Perth we were welcomed by Jane & Keith when we arrived and made to feel very comfortable. Our homemade brekkie was delicious, the omelette and waffles were great and we enjoyed sipping the complimentary port from the cute glasses in the main room. We would definetely recommend this place to anyone visiting the region. We decided to leave our car in town after a drinks and dinner at "Must" and strolled back to collect it in the morning as it wasn't far from the centre of town. Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi Stacey
It was a delight to host you and your friend in The Wallcliffe Suite... perfect choice when you each want a separate room. We are really glad that you loved your breakfasts and enjoyed the 10 minute walk home!

Thanks for your kind and encouraging review!
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My Wife and I stayed at Rosewood in the New Year. The room was comfortable and clean. The welcome from the owners was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble, Our stay in the Margaret River area was such a success due to the excellent and detailed briefings we received and all the recommendations were just right for us. there were many little touches which made Rosewood particularly special, such as the decanters of sherry and madeira from which one was invited to take a complimentary glass in the evening to the use of an excellent gas barbecue on the stoop togetrher with a basket full of crockery, cutlery, sauces and condiments for only a very few dollars extra. We had our own car but for those travellers who don't, the owner has a beautiful old Rolls Royce which he uses to take residents on personalised tours of the local Wineries. Compared with all the other comparable guesthouses and Bijou Hotels in which we stayed in SW Australia, we rated it the best experience.

Room Tip: I suspect that all their rooms are of a similar standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Hi Frank
Your very kind assessment of Rosewood is greatly appreciated. Given that you travel so extensively on business we know that you have a great knowledge of what makes accommodation memorable. Often it is a recommendations and little touches which make the difference between an OK visit and a great visit. We always try to make sure our guests are not left wanting!...especially for good coffee!

We hope you have the opportunity to visit again and even take a tour in Rose!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We recently stayed at Rosewood Guesthouse Margaret River and found it excellent.
Room was ample size with kitchenette and good bathroom separate WC. Good home cooked breakfast and very friendly and helpful owner / managers Jane & Keith.
Would happily stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom room albeit we did not require or book this category but was well located in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rperron2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Well we couldn't be happier that you had a great experience at Rosewood and that your stay in The Wallcliffe Suite was to your liking. Our breakfasts are a very good way to start the day for sure!

We hope to see you again.

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have had a lovely stay in rosewood, our room was very large with separate w.c and bathroom. Keith and Jane made us very welcome and gave us some invaluable information about local restaurants. We took a stroll to the town center and enjoyed a meal and a few glasses of wine. Loved relaxing on the deck with a drink surrounded by the beautiful garden. Also the breakfast was great too. I would recommend the waffles,cream, maple syrup and banana. It sets you up for the day!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foord007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Hi
The waffles really are a great start to the day for a lot of our guests and we are really pleased you enjoyed them. It's sometimes hard to choose from the traditional English breakfast or the special of the day... we try to have something for everyone.

We have some Danish guests on the deck as I type reading their books and enjoying the bird life after a busy day exploring...it is great to see guests enjoying their holiday in our region.

It is very kind of you to take the time to share your experience and we are glad our lovely rooms provided you with a memorable stay.

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.6 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.9 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Guesthouse

Property: Rosewood Guesthouse
Address: 54 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosewood Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Guesthouse is friendly, well located and award winning hosted accommodation just 10 mins walk to town. With 6 beautifully detailed guest rooms all en-suite and air-conditioned with your own fridge, TV/DVD and tea coffee facilitie. Rosewood provides a convivial atmosphere, free WIFI with an included great breakfast featuring local produce, good coffee and interesting conversation will ensure that your stay is memorable. With restaurants and shops within walking distance, and wineries, beaches and forests within 10 minutes allow at least 3 nights for the sights! Rolls Royce Tours available. Suits guests over the age of 12.We can accommodate children if the entire house is reserved otherwise we regret we do not suit infants or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rosewood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing