We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alice in wonderland”
Review of Gilgara Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gilgara Retreat
Ranked #9 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alice in wonderland”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Just one word: beautiful. We’ve stayed in 5 stars hotels in many places before, but this one is just so nice and different. Staying in the room feels like living outdoor; the big glass windows bring you so close to nature. Waking up in the morning you can almost smell the scent of wild flowers.

Room is big, clean, modern; bathroom is huge; kitchen is convenient. Good location. Owners are really nice and cool people.

Hope one day I can have a house like, hehe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwhitelotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    24
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
321 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

A travelling group of 4 couples from Malaysia and we booked 4 garden suites at the retreat.
We arrived late, about 10+pm but the manager, Elaine was around to receive and show us the rooms. Modern design, spacious, clean and well equipped. We stayed 3 nights in the "woods" and were greeted by birds chirps in the morning. A very refreshing feeling indeed.
Elaine is an excellent manager, always greeting us with a big smile and ever ready to recommend and make reservations at restaurants, vineyards n places of interest.
Only negative comment is that the shower area can be slippery when wet and there is no support bar.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay at the garden resort for the "nature" feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in Gilgara for just one night during our visit to Margaret River and chose it for the location and because it seemed like a really lovely place from the photos on the website.

How lucky we were, the place is indeed much better than the photos - not to mention the great hospitality from Elaine, the owner who is so proud of the place and prepares an excellent breakfast with fresh juice and home-made jams.

We had a room in the Main house, which we loved - comfortable, clean, quite, modern and rustic at the same time. Elaine showed us the lofts, which are the apartments just outside the Main house and they are superb - we will probably choose that if we have the change to visit Margaret River again.

The hotel is just a short drive to all wineries and the main village where the restaurants are (for dinner).

I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, down to earth place in the countryside with just the right modern touch to it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main House are ecelent, but the Lofts are superb and very private although more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariano_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Garden Suites are very modern/open plan and clean. The sliding windows open right up to give you the impression of being at one with nature. The spa bath can also be opened up to the outside. The bed was large and comfortable and all amenities were provided to a high standard. There was even a small ironing board and iron should you need it. The floors are tiled and therefore cold but they provide slippers.
The hostess was friendly and helpful and able to provide DVDs and good walking directions for the hour long walk to the coast which was well worth it.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katejs1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Gilgara - from the warm hospitality of Elaine, the manager, to the lovely garden suite we stayed in to the beautiful and relaxing surroundings. Even our 17 mth old gal was delighted with the suite. She ran around, and enjoyed the space in the suite. Only downside is that it can be cold in the bathroom as there's no heater in there. But it's not very cold. Well-equipped kitchenette and absolutely lovely bathroom with a jacuzzi spa. Very clean (other than for some old insect baiting stations under the cabinets). The manager was very helpful and provided us with a baby bathtub upon request, lent us an extra pot, helped us with our luggage and even provided a little oil for us to fry some eggs. And though we didn't see any kangaroos from our suite, we saw a bandicoot scurrying around just in front of our suite. Wish we had booked to stay longer there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paxetbonum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My family and I stayed in Garden Suites and I can say that we really had a nice time. If you are just looking for a quiet placeto stay and sleep, this one is for you. Garden Suites have their own kitchenette. I would stay the facility is complete. The owner Elaine adds more to our liking in this place. Her warmth and being so accommodating makes us want to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annematt143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Compared to other options in the Margaret River region, Gilgara is a strong pick. However, I wouldn't consider this ultimate luxury as some other reviews have done.
First of all, you definitely need to pay the extra for a garden suite. The house rooms look like a '60s B&B room with their outdated magenta carpet and grandmotherly drapes. The garden suites are much more modern with amenities including a kitchenette and spacious bathroom.
At a glance, Gilgara suites are luxurious with the jacuzzi, skylights and even kangaroos outside your glass door. At closer inspection, it doesn't fulfill the luxury category. Glasses in the kitchen have rims from previous usage, tiles are chipped at the corners in the bathroom and ants spew from the jacuzzi jets when turned on. The ants they can't do much about because of the climate and ant behaviour, however, the other lacking points can be improved.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.2 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
5.6 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilgara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilgara Retreat

Property: Gilgara Retreat
Address: 3 Old Ellen Brook Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilgara Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gilgara Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilgara Retreat Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing