We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$135 studio for corporate traveller - pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bentleys Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentleys Motor Inn
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“$135 studio for corporate traveller - pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

How much importance do you place on front office? Do you like a warm smiley greeting on arrival? I do. What is a fair rate for a corporate traveller? Like, a traveller who will return month after month. Well, this place is too expensive at $135/night for a corporate traveller for a studio room. Coupled with a greeting and a look as though I had just got out of prison, I was not impressed. It is not hard to pick someone who is likely to return time and time again. Especially if the car is covered in sign writing!! Well, Mr Bentley...take note. Smarten up the reception and offer a better corporate rate and your occupancy might hit 99%. I like a previous review where a suggestion of a biscuit or two is a nice touch. I would also like to see towels that are not fraying at the edge and a shower that doesn't spray all over the floor. Minor issues, but with such fierce competition in the motel market, these little things do matter. The motel is within easy walking distance of good restaurants and is reasonably quiet so land as the other guest are quiet as it the units are very public. Free internet access is a must these days.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiglobetroter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BentleysMI, Owner at Bentleys Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Kiwiglobetrotter

Thank you for taking the time to review Bentleys.
I am pleased to write that the unpleasant encounter you had with the gentleman (previous owner) will not be greeting any of our guests any longer!
We have in place two lovely and friendly Managers, Tony & Lynda, who cannot do enough for Bentleys Guests. Since we have taken ownership we have also reduced our tariffs, as we agree the previous prices were a little steep. Under the new ownership we have biscuits in all suites, free internet for all guests, and most certainly no frayed towels!
Once again thank you for your feedback we hope you will come back and enjoy the new and improved Bentleys.

Warm Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
16
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Was so pleased to be told about this motel by friends as I had tried several others in Palmerston North and always been disappointed. Bentleys is very clean and relatively spacious. Well appointed and modern decor and was suited to large or small families as there is a selection of rooms. Good location as it was easy to walk into town. Little touches like the coffee plungers made it more than average. Free internet is a great idea but at 50mb it really didn't last long.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara_e_mtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BentleysMI, Owner at Bentleys Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Sara

Thank you for taking the time to review Bentleys.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent two nights in this place over the Easter break, We stayed in an one bedroom SPA bath suites.

Pros:
+ The suite is clean and well maintained.
+ The SPA bath pool is spacious. It doesn't cause any condensation to the suite as it is located in a separate room
+ Big LCD TV screen (By hotel standard) and it was attached to a DVD player. We rented a few DVD from Civic Video and had a movie marathon. It was very relaxing.

Cons:
+ The free WI-FI only comes with 50MB data cap. 50MB can be chewed up easily by uploading a few photos to facebook or sync photos to Google+.
+ DVD player was place in a cabinet drawer which doesn't face to the couch. You can't use the Remote to control the player as it has no line of sight. You have to stand in front of the DVD player, set everything up, press 'Play' before laying on the couch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BentleysMI, Owner at Bentleys Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi CSGoh

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Bentleys.
We have rearranged where the DVD player sits so that the remotes will be more inline without the need to stand on the bed!
We hope to see you back for another visit in the near future.

Warm Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have stayed there each year for last 5 years for superstock champs. Place always clean and tidy and staff helpful. Nice and handy to race track, town, supermarket etc. Just watch your toes on the bed legs which stick out a bit and toe stubbers

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BentleysMI, Owner at Bentleys Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Keith,

Great to receive feedback from a long time Bentleys stayer.
We hope you continue to enjoy your stays with us here and enjoy the Superstocks.

Warm Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

I firmly believe it's the way in which you deal with situations. To be told ants are a common problem in palmy and then charged full price I was not impressed

This was my second stay and up until this morning I was impressed and would have given an excellent review

The rooms are great and the bed is comfy a tad on the expensive side but you pay for what you get (in comparison to other Palmerston motels)

This morning the floor was covered and I mean covered in ants to the point I used four towels to make it ok to walk on!!

The man at reception was reasonably unfriendly and unsympathetic to my complaint about the ants

Would think twice about staying here in the future which is a shame

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itraveloften2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmygirl, Owner at Bentleys Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you for your review of Bentleys Motor Inn and we apologise that you didn't,t feel your complaint was dealt with adequately. We have had an ant problem and are working hard with sprays etc to try and fix this. Due to the extremely dry weather this problem has been worse than usual.

We hope that you would come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed here (2 Adults, 2 Children 4 and 6) in October this year. We booked a 2 bedroom unit and arrived late in the afternoon. Manager was very friendly and professional and the room was a good size and very clean. My only negative comment would be that the Room only had a very small tv and no DVD player. Most decent motels now have a decent sized flat panel tv and DVD especially in Family units. Perhaps something that could be improved on!! ;) Overall I would recommend as a decent Motel close to town and quiet!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmygirl, Owner at Bentleys Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We have upgraded all of our TV's and now have the latest 32" LED TV's in all our rooms.
We do have DVD players in all our rooms unfortunately the one in your room had been removed as it was not working and the new one was not placed in the room before your arrival.
We hope that you would come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

For $185 per night, I would expect a little more luxury, but the furnishings felt the same as any other nice motel etc. It was tidy and comfortable, and although we didn't end up using the spa, it was rather massive (though they tell us it takes 40minutes to fill). Generally good experience, but wouldn't stay again for that price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmygirl, Owner at Bentleys Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank You for your reveiw any feedback is much appreciated. Just for your future reference we do have less expensive rooms available which are our standard studios and also our one bedroom spa bath suites. The suite that you had has a large inroom self fill spa pool which does take some filling but many of our guests love to use.
We hope that you will come back and stay with us again and try one of our other less expensive options.
Carol Smyth
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentleys Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentleys Motor Inn

Property: Bentleys Motor Inn
Address: Cnr Linton & Chaytor Streets, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentleys Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentleys Motor Inn are a luxury accommodation provider in central Palmerston North. Bentleys provide their guests with a range of rooms and prices to suit all tastes while also ensuring guests are given the best value for money and luxurious but affordable accommodation. Bentleys Motor Inn provides two different spa alternatives, a standard spa bath and a spa pool large enough to fit 4. Bentleys exceed the expectations of a spa motel by locating the larger spa pool in its own private room off the bathroom, a feature Bentleys Motor Inn can boast as the only accommodation in the area to provide. As Bentleys are located on a side street they are able to ensure quiet accommodation while also being within walking distance to the central town area, one of few Palmerston North area that can provide this. Bentleys Motor Inn are also the only accommodation provider in the Palmerston North area to have their own Squash Court on the premises as well as a Gym & Sauna, all of which are free for guests to use. They also have ample off street free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bentleys Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing