We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitable friendly stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
napier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitable friendly stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I came in on business late one night , my room was warm and my hosts, Keith and Bronwyn warmer in their welcome.
They took the time to chat and see me to my room even though it was well past closing time
This is a quiet and comfortable place to be in Palmerston North and I recommend the friendly folk at Harringtons

Room Tip: Try their cooked breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Pleased you enjoyed the brekkie - Keith does a great job with these and really appreciates your feeback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
28
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good location, good off street parking, very clean and comfortable and really great hosts - we only stayed the one night due to building renovations at our own property but would happily recommend this as a place to stay if visiting PN.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Trust the renovations all went to plan... Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Really appreciate this. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

easily found motel, quiet location, not close to centre of town, friendly reception, average sized room, felt dark room, had all amenities, with parking outside room, room was clean and comfortable, perhaps slightly dated but not worn.

Room Tip: reception helpful in giving advice on local area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baxterseacow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are a little puzzled sorry. This room was one of the studios repainted 2013 adding a new feature wall. It also has a new bedspread and new black out drapes last year. We feel this is of modern design and right up there with the Qualmark 4 star quality we advertise. Both of us were born and raised here in the Palmerston North area - pleased we could help you with the local knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

It was a real pleasure meeting Keith and Bronwyn who were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay in their motel a pleasure. Thank-you very much for extending your hospitality and allowing us to secure our motorbike in your garage. Very highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for your recommendation Belinda - really appreciated. Safe travels out there....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed last weekend after being given a list of possible hotels close to the wedding venue we were in Palmerston to attend and having done some research decided on harringtons - we were definitely not disappointed in any way. Very clean, comfortable bed, helpful and friendly hosts. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Many thanks for your recommendation Glennis - pleased the weekend was an enjoyable one and the accommodation was well suited. Cheers, Keith and Brony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here before xmas as an inbetween for Auckland and Wellington.

We had read previous reviews which suggested not getting the room beside the road, which we had requested, but ended up getting it anyway - but it wasn't as loud as another reviewer had said (barely a peep - just a low hum when a car/truck went passed)

Quite dark rooms - easy to get too, enough room for the toddler to go a little mad in, and a park across the road perfect for kids(as well as a ton of other parks and gardens for kids)

Fantastic spa bath, small dining room table and only two lounge chairs to sit in(main bed in lounge room). Most of the menus in the information booklets are out dated so we had some embarrassing phone calls trying to order dinner.Very clean.

No wifi

Friendly people running it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberbob2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehaveAhome4you, Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Sorry but as we cannot identify which guest you are we are not sure if your booking was made direct or online. If made direct and you requested not to be beside the road we would certainly not have allocated that unit to you, and all online booking sites state that this particular unit is beside the road. Pleased to hear that the unit worked well for you, that you enjoyed the Spa and the Esplanade playground / gardens across the road.

All Compendium restaurant menu's are updated regularly as and when these are provided by the restaurant.

Your No wifi comment is puzzling. Our Corporates tell us repeatedly that our TrafficMate Wifi is the easiest wifi to connect to. It does however require a secure keycode for access obtainable from Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Harringtons Motor Lodge recently, for a few days. The hosts, Brony and Keith were most welcoming and made the stay enjoyable.The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, quiet and very clean. The location is perfect, for either the corporate traveller or for families with a lovely big park just across the road from the Harringtons and walk ways along the river. We would most definitely stay at Harringtons again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Diane, many thanks for taking the time to post your review and for your comments. Pleased that our location worked well for you and that it was a positive experience staying with us. Safe travels out there......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.3 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harringtons Motor Lodge

Property: Harringtons Motor Lodge
Address: 301 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harringtons Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less that 2km to Massey University, Caccia Birch House, Chalet on the Lake, Wharerata conference facilites, Wedding Venues Palmerston North and CBD The Square. Opposite Esplande gardens and walkways. All suites are Non Smoking and all Ground Floor. We offer the highest level of friendly personal service, and an atmosphere that allows for your complete privacy for the Corporate or Independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing