We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Palmerston North Gem”
Review of A'La Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A'La Vista Motel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I visit Palmerston North occasionally and thought that for this occasion we would give the A'La Vista motel a go. We were very glad that we did. Not only were we able to check in early, we were offered a complimentary upgrade. What a great motel. The room we had was excellently presented, very very clean. Very comfortable. We spent two nights here and would happily stay here again. Very quiet. Good sized in room TV screen

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for A'La Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We apparently caught the lady at reception on a bad day!!
She made us feel very unwelcome and was squabbling over the amount we had paid for the room online, and how many people i had booked for, we had booked a family unit sleep in 6, there were 4 adults one infant.
Also we told 2 different things about the cot hire, a little confusing.
The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable.
The let down being the front counter.
Would not reccommend or stay again.
An unplesant experience all round.

Room Tip: The family units are not bad.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Natasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alavistamotel, Owner at A'La Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Please accept my apology, I was unaware the bad news I had just received (via a phone call) had carried over to you. We generally can pride ourselves on our cheerfulness and helpfulness, I do hope we are able to change your mind and welcome you back for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We came in late at night. The arrangements with keys were perfect, with no hitches. The unit had a lovely spa bath.... great after a long drive. There were no problems checking out a little later than 10. Great customer service all round.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The comfort and cleanliness of this motel is second to none. Its quiet & well maintained. The best heater I have ever encountered in a motel. The spa bath was exceptional in that all the jets worked. The housekeeping staff were tidy in appearance and cheerful. Plus good value for money. We will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueToo535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here on Saturday 25 May 2013 for a night in a studio room which had 1 King Bed and a Single Bed. There was a huge double spa bath. I was travelling with a friend as our daughters were playing in a Basketball Tournament. From the time we checked in i was impressed. Friendly reception staff even though they were only minding the motel. The room was adequate for the two of us it had everything we needed. Great Kitchen facilities as we cooked in our room and the room was spotless. We paid $99 for the night making it $50 each and for that price I was blown away. I will always stay here if I am looking for "Value for Money". It is very unassuming and I don't think the website does it justice. Good for families or friends travelling together and it has a swimming pool which will be perfect for summer. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for somewhere decent to stay in Palmerston North.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Thanks to family, we found this great motel a while ago and when in the area, always go back there. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, warm and quiet. The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly, and great rates. Very happy to recommend this great motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just stayed here and agree with previous reviews, good value, sign/ entrance appears old but interiors newly redone, neat, good bed, shower, and kitchen, friendly staff, even enjoyable pool. 5 min walk to square/ shopping or 5 minute drive to MU. Only other thoughts are to check wotif which was $20 less than website, ask for room without neighbours to avoid possible smoking or conversation noise, and free wifi limited to 100mb per stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room without neighbours to avoid possible smoking or conversation noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGaltUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
348 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Villas
The Villas
#22 of 25 in Palmerston North
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'La Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'La Vista Motel

Address: 171 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A'La Vista Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Spacious Ground floor units - a mix of studio/Family/Double spa bath units.Kitchen facilities in all units. Wireless internet available in all units, 7 channel Sky TV, Swimming PoolCooked/Continental Breakfast available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your A'La Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing