We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here due to a double booking At another hotel and loved it ! Easy to find , huge room and huge spa bath . Everything was so clean and tidy, it was perfect . Hosts were lovely and friendly and made the experience even better.Wish I'd stayed here both nights instead of going to my original accommodation on night 2.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank beth756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKsPalmerstonNorth, Manager at BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you Beth for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoy our role as hosts and when we have such a happy guest it is all so worthwhile. Our awesome and hard working staff will appreciate your generous feedback. We look forward to meeting you again on your return visit to Palmy. Kindest Regards Roger & Margy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
27
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I booked in to stay at this motel over a "wotif" deal that included a breakfast credit of $20.00 for the room. We stayed for 2 nights over the NZ Labour Weekend (last weekend in October 2013).
The motel staff: Friendly and very accommodating.
The motel room: CLEAN, modern and light.
Breakfast: Was served in our room at our allocated time. Free range eggs and great orange juice.
Highly recommended. Great value for money - we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The motel is split over 2 levels, so if you have a problem climbing a set of stairs, please request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKsPalmerstonNorth, Manager at BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi there Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to submit such an awesome review. We are encouraged when we hear how much our guests enjoy all the different aspects of their stay with us. We look forward to your return visit to Palmerston North. Kind Regards Roger & Margy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is the best motel that I have stayed at in NZ. The reason is due to the combination of a quality room, exceptional hosts and outstanding cleaners - their attention to detail was beyond expectation.

I spent around two weeks there in Aug/Sep and not once did standards ever drop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKsPalmerstonNorth, Manager at BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sanjay, Thank you so very much for your awesome review and for taking the time to submit it. We will pass your positive feedback onto our housekeeping staff, they are absolute gems. Your comments are very encouraging to us also and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to Palmerston North. Kindest Regards Roger & Margy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Booked the B&B deal via Wotif (easy). Stayed one night in August at BKs. Reception was very friendly. Easy walk to town to find dinner. Ground floor room was quiet (even though on a main road), clean and comfortable, with modern decor. We didn't need the heater (even though it was mid winter), & somehow the room heated too warm for our taste for sleeping (and no way to control heat?). Our room had a tiny courtyard. Free offstreet parking and internet as promised. In-room breakfast (chosen night before) was delivered nice & hot & tasty. More ideal for 1 night stopovers and business travellers I think. Would definitely stay again if travelling through the region.

Room Tip: Collect internet code from reception. Can only connect to one device at a time, but it did work wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKsPalmerstonNorth, Manager at BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Fiona, Thank you for taking the time to submit your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. On your next visit, be sure to ask for a couple of internet vouchers, as we happily offer more than 1 these days. Since your last visit, we now have Smart TVs in the rooms that are already connected to the internet. We look forward to meeting with you again. Kindest Regards Roger & Margy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

So different to all the others I have stayed in at Palmy. Stayed for two nights and had a great time. The room is so very new and spotless and up with overseas hotels. Large comfy King size bed, two lazy boy chairs which is a nice change from a sofa, beautiful modern clean bathroom /shower and a lovely kitchenette. The hosts were great and very helpful - even extending my voucher dates to ones that suit me - awesome!!. They even have a little library (from books left behind I think) that you can help yourself too - I did but will return the book of course. Can't comment on the breakfast as I did not have it but it smelled great.
I will definitely be back and not just because I have another voucher. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in 621 - it was great :-) very quite and so clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKsPalmerstonNorth, Manager at BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you Linda for taking the time to send us such a wonderful review. Your comments are very encouraging and inspiring and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at B-K's Motor Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards Roger & Margy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights and I have to say it is such a lovely place to stay. The hosts are so friendly and go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. I had an amazing sleep in a big comfy bed with no disturbance from any noise outside. The rooms are a perfect size with comfy la-z-boys. The room was very modern with a very clean and modern spacious bathroom. Plus there is ample space for parking. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKsPalmerstonNorth, Manager at BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi Kayla, We thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you and look forward to your next visit and meeting the rest of your family. Kindest Regards Roger & Margy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a great place - great hospitality and lovely comfortable rooms. The one thing I generally dislike about motels is the whole clinical minimalist look with uncomfortable slab sofa's and beds.

None of that here!!

What a lovely surprise - clean and tidy rooms, friendly people, brilliant breakfast just when we wanted it, along with lovely comfy armchairs, warm decor and awesome beds means that I will definitely be back.

Many thanks :)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with spa and seperate bedbroom and a spa bath - great layout and size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKsPalmerstonNorth, Manager at BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you Chrissie for taking the time to submit such an awesome review. We enjoyed meeting you and loved that you felt comfortable and at home. We look forward to your return visit to our motor lodge. Kindest Regards Roger & Margy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North

Property: BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
Address: 102 Cuba Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B-K's Motor Lodge is Palmerston North's newest affordable luxury motel. Now with New Interactive Smart TVs and FREE Ultra-Fast Broadband, consisting of 35 studio and one-bedroom suites, some interconnecting. Many suites have air-conditioning and all suites are ultra quiet with double glazing and double insulating. Be it for business or leisure, B-K's Motor Lodge has an excellent range of facilities and is ready to welcome you. Only five minutes walk to the central city, across the road from the Manawatu Arena plus close to all amenities. We offer all modern facilities including, gym, sauna, minibars, guest laundry, restaurant delivery room service, cafe style breakfast room service. We offer business facilities Conference Hire sitting up to 20. Most of all the managers - Gail & Kelvin offer a friendly and helpful welcome to everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing