We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain, spotless and excellent value”

Palmerston North Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmerston North Motel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Plain, spotless and excellent value”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

and great, friendly service. Just stayed for 6 nights and couldn't fault it (well perhaps the shower isn't as powerful as I'd like and a wooden spoon would have been useful but perhaps they are not considered hygienic these days). We voted the beds as very comfortable. Soundproofing between units is very good indeed with solid walls. It's very handy for a large supermarket and the centre of town with all it's eateries. I always find rating a bit difficult. For the money you pay this motel is as good as I've found. You'll get better but you'll pay more - often a lot more. We will be staying there again. I should add that we came on recommendation from other groups that we know who have stayed there.

Room Tip: There isn't much heavy traffic on the road at night so I don't think there's an advantag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
740 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

It is in the middle of Palmy, a walking distance to Pak n Save, Mall and the City Square.
This hotel provides a spacious clean room and nice and clean shower and toilet. A comfy bed and quiet nights and a sofa. Free tea and coffee, microwave, fridge and hot water kettle also. A Flat TV with a lot of channel choices, and parking space in front of the room.
And the Manager was really helpful with the local Information.
One of the best feature of this hotel is its WALL made from brick which means more soundproof from any neighboring noises.
Moreover, the hotel offers a Sauna, but I haven't had chance to try it.

So, it is worth for the Room Rate ($99 per night for two people). It is on my list when visiting Palmy next time.

Room Tip: The room away from the front road should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have now stayed at the Palmerston North Motel twice each time we have had wonderful service.
We book a one bedroom unit with a king bed & a single bed in the living area. Very good shower. A very nice spa pool to relax in. A very quiet motel with friendly owners & staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a week in Palmerston North and seriously we could not fault this motel, it was spotlessly clean, very quiet, the bed was awesome and the location was fantastic.
The customer service was outstanding, so if you need a room for a night or a week do not go past this motel, if you can find better.......well good luck !!!!!!

Cheers for an exceptional stay guys !

Room Tip: Number 13 was lucky for us !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee N Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great value for money clean tidy spacious , we had plenty of room for 4 guys. Staff friendly and helpful enjoyed our stay. Location is good can walk to town. Have stayed here before and would do so again. Very helpful hosts . And yes you get real milk for your drinks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldflash472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We asked for a quiet room and were placed next to a school, next to reception where each time the phone rang, it rang on a loud speaker outside of the room.

While they had tried to open windows to compensate for the musky smell in the room, it was still noticeable.

That said, the room/s were large (including the bathroom without a bath) and the kitchenette was complete and came with plenty of storage and bench space. The curtains were dark which helped the sleep-in, and the beds were comfortable.

The Motel is walking distance to the centre of town and a supermarket is on the same street. It has a small outdoor pool (which we did not use) and the motel did offer an affordable variation of breakfasts to be delivered to your room.

Plenty of parking (usually at the door of your room), and one storey (wheelchair friendly) this Motel was one of the best designed motels we stayed at during our holiday - particularly if you brought large suitcases.

Reception was friendly and very helpful, but our only real issue could have been solved by placing us in a quieter area of the complex away from reception.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from reception and away from the school it is next to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

If you want a place to stay in Palmerston North that is a true walking distance to town then we would highly reccomend The Palmerston North Motel in Linton Street. We have stayed there nearly a dozen times over the past few years and have always found it very reliable, quiet and very clean. The one bedroom units are our favorite as you get that extra room to move about in. It also has a super king bed which is extremely comfortable although it does dominate the bedroom a bit (minor comment).

Room Tip: One bedroom units. Plenty of room for two people and well away from the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Villas
The Villas
#22 of 25 in Palmerston North
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmerston North Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmerston North Motel

Property: Palmerston North Motel
Address: 66 Linton Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmerston North Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmerston North Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing