We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defintely somewhere we would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Defintely somewhere we would stay again”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in Cornwall Park Motor Lodge early June when we attended the National Poultry Show, we loved this place, the spa bath was such a bonus and huge, the rooms were clean, warm, the bed was like a cloud. We had a cooked breakfast which was just wonderful, perfectly cooked plenty of it. I really cant speak more highly of the service and the room. Very central

Room Tip: one of the upstairs suites perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55Sharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
47
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good business package (incl breakfast), excellent rates, good customer service. Spa pool in room (not bathroom), where you can watch tv. Complementary wine, biscuits and chocolate on arrival. Good size real milk for the room. Loads of towells. Handy to CBD. Quiet enough. Clean. Would easily recommend this place for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs spa suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeePlease2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

we have stayed here 3 times now and every time the place is the same clean and tidy the staff are very friendly I love the spa bath rooms and always try to get one they are great after a long day shopping :-) the location is the best for dinning - mall - supermarket- gas station - Highly recommend the Cornwall

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soper-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We were over in Palmy (Palmerston North for short) for the evening. I chose this because of it's location.

It was great, friendly hosts, close as to town, rooms were comfortable with all the things you needed. I like the green towels sometime you get scared to dirty the white ones. I definitely stay here again, it was quiet considering the location.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank T3urumana0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely motel in a great location. Ester & Tom are very friendly & helpful hosts who were a pleasure to deal with.

Large room with accessible bathroom. Most comfortable KS bed with a 2seater lounge & 2 lounge chairs. Table & chairs in kitchette area.

Extra pillows (always a blessing instead of having to ask) & 2 lovely looking dressing gowns.

Large flat screen TV & free WiFi which we really appreciated.

Everything was spotless & well maintained. Loved to have known what the beautiful room fragrance was but forgot to ask.

Thought we may have had some road noise but very little if any once doors & windows were closed.

Functional small kitchen with spotless crockery & glasses & thank you for the lovely shortbread biscuits another nice touch that is missing from a lot of accommodation today

Location location location. Right opposite a big shopping centre with many restaurants in the main street all within a very easy short walk. The Irish pub over the road meals were very good

We stayed in 5 towns of different types of accommodation over the Easter break & this had to be one of the better ones.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggysue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther65_13, Owner at Cornwall Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review yesterday. We do appreciate your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for a night last month, great value for money I think. Loved the room with spa bath, bed was extremely comfortable - only thing is when the jets in spa were turned on it sprayed out black dirt so couldn't really use it but one of those things and would most certainly stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRach01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther65_13, Owner at Cornwall Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear you had trouble with the spa. We are very focused on cleanliness, especially in this area. After each stay the housekeeping staff, refill the spa baths and flush them with a cleaning agent. We will look into why this was not done in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent accommodation in the inner city. Very spacious and clean rooms which are very well equipped. The rooms are spotlessly clean and Esther and Tom are the perfect hosts. So helpful and obliging. Couldn't ask for anything more. Will definitely be back. !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornwall Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Motor Lodge

Property: Cornwall Motor Lodge
Address: 101 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornwall Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the heart of Palmerston North. Situated just opposite the Plaza Shopping Mall, Restaurant and Cafes. Super King Beds, Self-Fill Spa Pools in rooms, Large and Spacious rooms.One Bedroom Family Suites with Super King Bed in the Lounge and seperate bedroom with two single beds, Spa Baths in bathroom or Shower Only. All suites have cooking facilities. Ample Free Parking available. Park your car and shop til you drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornwall Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing