We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for lunch date” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bethanys

Bethanys
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Met for lunch with two girlfriends - we were taken to our table upstairs where we had a great view out over the Square Gardens in the centre of the city. The staff were friendly and professional in their service to us and the food was excellent and well presented. I very much enjoyed the chicken salad, my dessert yummy and the House Chardonnay pleasant - all in all a lovely lunchtime date. Decided we will definitely meet here again. Free 2 hour Public parking was available in the Harvey Norman basement carpark nearby - only a short walk to the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwisx2Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    104
    22
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Delicious food , superbly presented, and at a very busy time, with people arriving at the same time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WildgeeseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Somehow I didn't realize that it was graduation week when I went to book a table at Bethanys only a few hours before dinner. Luckily they were able to fit us in, and it was well worth it! The winter menu had some great options - really enjoyed the ostrich. Service was quick and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank burberrytanqueray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a wonderful experience we sat upstairs seeing the lovely view of the squire at night the lights on the clock change and it looked so beautiful the views we saw. the food was delicious a wide variety and the service was of applicable style i recommend to everybody to go and lovely and war,m upstairs. Well set out and service was tremendous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Hot Chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

While travelling recently my daughter and I tested out a few hot chocolates in Palmerston North and I would recommend Bethanys!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bethanys also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Bethanys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing