We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drovers Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drovers Motor Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My son and I stayed at Drovers in November when attending an interview at the university. Although not the closest to uni we chose it because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. From the moment we booked the personal service we got was brilliant and without fault. The motor inn is really well located, easy to find and the rooms were excellent. Israel and Sieda went above and beyond the norm and we will definitely be staying there again every time we are back in Palmerston North (which will no doubt be frequently as our son is now studying there) Thanks Israel and Sieda! :)
PS The bar over the road has great pub food and the breakfast in house was really nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for the review! Hopefully he's still enjoying Palmerston North. Hope to see you again soon and see how he's going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
20
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Super friendly hosts, lovely clean & tidy units! good location, added bonus of comfy lazy boy chairs (nice touch from the usual chair/couch) - partner greatly appreciated them.

Only feedback would be: slightly darker window dressing would keep light out.
Will most definitely stay again. Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni2013roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hey guys! thanks for this review. Glad you loved the unit and tell your husband anytime he wants a comfortable chair we would love to have you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Simply Amazing is how I describe Drovers Motor Inn. It certainly was a fantastic find, just a short walk to the city and Sieda and Israel are a young couple who know the meaning of the word service. They are warm and welcoming, told us about the cute Olde English pub tucked away nearby, made forward bookings for us in Taupo and gave us FREE internet too. Our suite was tastefully decorated and had a Super-King sized bed, a 42”TV and Lazy-boy chairs. We stayed here a few years ago just after Sieda and Israel took over and are pleased to see they now have a family with another on the way. Our stay was Superb and we'd recommend Drovers Motor Inn to anyone heading to Palmerston North.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardJ020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you! hopefully we see you again soon. =]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Comfortable bed. Nicely renovated modern and clean unit. Very noisy though and kitchen blinds didn't block out enough light. Beautiful bathroom with great shower. Very nice And good reception service. Very nice comfy chairs with footstools and large tv.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citylights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time is has taken you to write the review, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Coolum, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay overnight at Drovers Motor Inn. The unit was lovely andw arm and as it was a very wet and cold weekend in Palmerston North . Our only complaint was that the on-site manager did not quieten down some noisy guests yelling out at 2am in the morning in the motel courtyard. Apparently they did not hear them. We enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the complex, not on the Main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1w1shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad the unit was to your liking and was comfortable.

Unfortunately we did not hear the guest you were speaking of, however we do provide in the rooms our direct contact number, had you given us a call it would have been sorted immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Loved staying here. Such a friendly welcome! Nothing was a problem. Room was warm & homey!!! They have done a great job renovating and are happy for feedback. Totally recommend it! Ted the cat was a great home touch. We also like that they are eco friendly. The free 500mb of wifi was a great bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhaleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you have put into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Drovers Motor Inn and it just keeps getting better. The personalised service and attention to detail distinguish this gorgeous motel from everywhere else. In Unit 5 was a 50 inch TV and comfortable leather couch which worked a treat while watching the All Blacks win over France. I love the natural bathroom products and the organic tea, coffee and sugar. Well done to Israel & Sieda.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drovers Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drovers Motor Inn

Property: Drovers Motor Inn
Address: 746 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drovers Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the suburb of Terrace End, the Drovers Motor Inn offers a variety of well-presented apartments and suites to suit your individual needs and budget. Choose from our spacious family apartments to relaxing spa suites. Each offers comfortable seating, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable place to rest your head. Situated just 1.6 km from the central city you can enjoy a leisurely stroll into town, the Hospital or even the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Drovers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing