We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Great stay, good vaule for money with th free breakie which was yummy.
Very enjoyable stay, Hotel very clean staff great to deal with.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samb2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

The Hotel was wonderful.
Buses easy access to Massey University.
Good location within the CBD area.
Walking around the square good health work out.
Shopping center close by incredible.
Rooms (outside the main hotel) a bit damp could do with some air freshner and a small night lamp.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamamags1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We booked one nights stay with the Moments to Treasure deal which included a delicious full breakfast for two. Took a little while to find the hotel but on arrival the service was excellent and friendly staff. The room was tidy and comfortable, nothing special but for the price it was good value. Heaps of parking available right outside the door. The restuarant had a good selection and we really enjoyed our meals. A nice atmosphere in the bar/restuarant. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The hotel is well-located. Very convenient. It's in the CBD. Shopping malls and Pak n Sav are just a stone's throw away.

Exterior of the building wasn't very impressive. But the inside at the reception was neat, clean and with fresh decor. Check-in staff service is OK but can be better. Plenty of parking lots.

Room wise - well equipped with beverages. The bathroom is luxurious - it looks newly refurbished. Beds are comfortable. But soft furnishing and curtains color scheme are a little dull. No cool air conditioning, hence needed to open windows. TV set is old. Needs to upgrade to flat screen. Surrounding is quiet - didn't hear any neighbours at all.
There is hardly any in-house facilities except for spa pool.

Zoe's restaurant is fantastic. We had dinner there - 2 for the price of one main. Good food and service. The cooked breakfast was even better - lots of variety. Check out was easy. No hiccups at all.

Room Tip: Moments to Treasure deal was a great package
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedOfRosesWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I stayed at the Kingsgate Palmerston North whilst attending a contact course at Massey University. The hotel is in a great position - 5 minutes walk to town and, as I had flown from Auckland, just a 2 minute walk to the bus stops for Massey University. As a solo traveller I ate in the hotel for both nights of my stay and the food and service was great - good slection of dinners at reasonable prices. My room was very comfortable and clean. My only wish is that there was a treadmill in the fitness room - I know there is access to a local gym but I honestly didn't want to be wandering around at night. I will be comiing to palmerston North next April for another contact course at the university and will definitely stay at the Kingsgate again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alip21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Staff lovely, room comfortable and clean, older room but great value. 20 min free internet in lobby daily and free spa. Very handy to shops, The Square, bus to Massey etc. Free taxi to airport when shuttlebus proved unavailable. I loved my stay, felt very welcome, and service absolutely brilliant. I plan to stay here every time I'm in Palmerston North.

Room Tip: cheap rooms are not in tower. Older but comfy
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Kingsgate a few times over the last couple of years and we have always found the service to be friendly and helpful and the rooms to be lovely and comfortable. The reception staff are always ready to help and nothing is a bother. We have always stayed in the tower block and will continue to do so as it suits our needs admirably. Thank you to the staff that are always friendly and see you again soon.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift area.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing