We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

A very cheap rate for room and breakfast. Room was at back of hotel, where it looks a bit worn but very quiet. Bathroom a bit tired but other than that everything was very comfortable. It is in a fantastic location - very central. I would recommend it. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    116
    78
    38
    27
See reviews for
38
110
33
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

As with other reviewers of this hotel, I was pretty nonplussed. My work travel coordinator booked me in to the Kingsgate for a night this week. I stayed in a room in the main building which the receptionist referred to as "the tower"...it was old, slightly decaying and really cold. The net curtains were disintegrating with holes here and there, the curtains were hanging off their track, and the only form of heating was a little wall heater that just didn't have the oomph to warm the whole room...which on a positive note, was of a good size. I ordered a room service meal in the evening from the restaurant, and it was OK...pretty mediocre, but if I had been paying for it myself, I probably would have been disappointed. In the morning, I got half way through my shower (which was not a long one) when the water went cold and stayed that way. Given that the room was really cold, the temperature outside hovering around zero, I had been looking forward to at least thawing out in the shower, but this was not to be, so with plan B in mind, I headed downstairs to the restaurant for a cooked breakfast. Needing to get to work as soon as I could, I opted for the buffet breakfast...not good...I definitely couldn't recommend it...the food was lukewarm and the plates stone cold so by the time I'd had 2 mouthfuls, everything was cold and starting to congeal. And there is just something about tinned spaghetti for breakfast that is just not cool. The waiting staff were pleasant though, and I wouldn't include them in my criticism of this hotel. I think next time I need to stay over in Palmerston North, I will opt for somewhere else...anywhere else!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar_Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Got a cheap rate so can't really complain - the room was big but very dated with old tv and even 80's radio knobs on the wall, but the bathroom had been renovated and was large and modern with lots of marble and a good sized spa bath. I expect the bedrooms would have been all renovated if the recession hadn't hit. If you want a cheap deal this is a good option, if you want a bit more modern or luxurious then try elsewhere.

Room Tip: The restaurant food wasn't that great - I'd recommend having dinner out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just awful.

Dirty, dated with rude service.

So basic that there wasn't even a cutlery in the room for me to eat my takeaways, unless I could eat noodles with a teaspoon?

Truly dire.

But, to try to be balanced, I'll list something positive- a large room, and um... a large room.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

There is a plaque on the wall as you enter the Kingsgate in Palmerston North commemorating the official opening of the building by the NZ Tourism Minister in 1986. Decades on, it remains relatively untouched -which is, for the visitor, a bit of a slap in the face.

Whilst the hotel is only a 3 star property it doesn’t necessarily excuse the state of the fixtures and fittings. Look at the Ibis hotel chain. They still manage to offer 3 star properties that are simple, modern and well maintained. This place is a bit of a joke.

To be fair, at some point, the bathrooms have been remodelled and this is a good thing. Nonetheless, the beds, desks, carpets and televisions are all due for refreshment –sooner rather than later. The bed had seen a whole lot of traveller miles and was sagging. The furniture stank of the 80s.

I generally book hotels on the basis of their facilities (as I tend to use them!) and, at the Kingsgate, they all appeared to be on the blink. The gym is now officially a weights room which I’d theorise is a result of the cardio machines breaking and no one wanting to pay to fix them. The gym itself is bizarre; a dank, dark room on the lower floors. The hotel also offers complimentary entry to the City Fitness gym which is two blocks away. This is handy..and nice...but not as handy as actually having a gym in the hotel. It also often rains in NZ so a gym two blocks away isn’t necessarily a winner. I got wet. Very wet.

The hotel also supposedly offered private hot pools for guests but these were all out of action when we visited. Apparently the staff who maintained them were all on holiday. Good for them. Bad for the guest who’d booked on the basis of a private hot pool with their significant other.
We stayed in the tower block – supposedly the superior offering. The economy blocks at the rear of the hotel look dire and due for a wrecking ball.

Whilst we got the room for a good rate it wasn’t necessarily good value. We expected more.
Amongst the sea of average that was the hotel there was one highlight – the staff. Friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Their service was five star. The hotel is no more than a two.

For those seeking web access there is the usual daylight robbery provided by the in-room broadband or you could just tap into the rather good Palmerston North free public wifi accesss point. Up to 100mb with no charge! Ask to be on a higher floor so the reception is better.

Room Tip: The supposedly superior rooms are in the main building. Go higher so you can tap into the free wi-fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I've stayed here several times now. I always get the slightly nice (read "bigger") queen room in the tower. Always clean and tidy with all the necessary amenities. Love the location and the parking space!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyBubbaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Little on the old side but nice and clean, bed was a bit soft but got a good nights sleep,in a good place for staying in PN,didn't have any meals there ,went to a wedding.We stayed on the 6th floor nice views rooms a good size

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swiwi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#16 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Property: Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing