We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, shame about the decor of rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, shame about the decor of rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Spent one night in the Kingsgate Hotel. Had originally booked the bed and breakfast deal to stay in the cheaper outside motel rooms. On arrival was greeting with very friendly welcoming staff. Room was upgraded to in the tower Block which was a pleasant surprise.
My room was very clean and tidy however the decor was looking very dated and tired. There were stains on the carpet and the mustard coloured curtains were a bit of an eye sore. On the good side the bathroom had been updated since my last stay here and it was nice and modern. The room also had a large flat screen TV which was a bonus.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic. It covered everyones tastes and had a very good selection.
I enjoyed my stay here. The room I was in was ok and there was no problem with noise from other rooms or from traffic.
I would recommend people to stay here only if they got a package deal with the breakfast. It is worth it for that.
If you can get past the room decor looking tired and dated it is actually a very nice place to stay. Its location is central Palmerston North and it has plenty of parking. The plaza is pretty much across the street on and angle and there is a large supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Refurbishment plans are in the pipelines to modernise the decor. Great to hear staff are making the difference
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    117
    80
    38
    27
See reviews for
39
111
33
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just stayed again at the Kingsgate in Palmerston North. This was my 3rd time here. Close by to all things, friendly staff. Nice buffet breakfast. Rooms nice and comfortable. There is also a gym on site. They do have a few deals going so make sure you ask. This time i stayed with a girlfriend but have also stayed at hotel with my husband. We had no problem with any noise all very quiet.

Room Tip: upgrade to the tower if poss. if cant the motel type rooms are ok too (have been in them as well)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have just started at the hotel and welcome any and all feedback
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here due to a training course being held in the hotels conference centre. Disappointing hotel rooms their saving grace was that the bathrooms had been modernised but the rooms were drab and in need of a facelift. Carpet on stairs was worn. Breakfast was a reasonable buffet. NZD 12.00 for 2 hours of internet (continuous use) was expensive - can hotels really justify charging so much? Gym had a reasonable array of machines and weights - but again the décor was old and paint was peeling. In summary - "Could do better!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is the first time I have stayed at the Kingsgate. No some parts of the complex are not new, however the areas I used were clean and tidy! Nice big bed. The staff that I had dealings with were fine. Breakfast was verg good, so all in all value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night while travelling from Australia for work. The room was so dated and dreary that I couldn't wait for the morning so I could check out. The bed was on a slope and I have never seen pillows so lumpy in my life. My room was pretty much on the main so there was no chance to sleep in. I'm struggling to say anything good about this place other than it is across the road from a good Irish pub

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mat291273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taranaki
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Reception staff varied between excellent in the evening to average in the morning. Food in evening was average to a little more than average, excellent portion size but just a little lacking in flavour, which was a shame because it looked great. Good value. Breakfast was excellent. Standard rooms are very dated, tired and need redoing. stained carpets, mismatched curtains, not quite clean enough. Difficult to find the controls and power switch for heater once I found the heater. Power switches for clock and electric blanket entailed pulling out the bed, not helpful. My friend's unit had a broken window hinge so it was a little open and let in a lot of noise from the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have always stayed at Kingsgate Hotel, Palmerston North whenever we go to Wellington from Auckland. The service is excellent, the gym is very good with TV, the rooms are very clean and lovely to stay in. The food is excellent. This Hotel is value for money and is a great place to stay as it is very very close to the shops and parks.

Room Tip: Room 510 is on the higher floor and has a lovely view of Palmerston North city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Property: Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing