We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed up on the top floor - given an upgrade actually .. for no extra cost. Pleasant room with nice view. Staff friendly and helpful. We were at a conference and the Palmerston North Conference Centre was not too far away by foot

Room Tip: Try for the top floor looking out to the ranges to the east - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briefstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    119
    83
    38
    27
See reviews for
40
112
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Can you imagine an hotel where the spa is out because of maintenance but don't expect apologize and discounts... Can you imagine an hotel where the internet is so expensive and slow ? Can you imagine an hotel where the staff is not friendly and told you to leave ? Can you imagine an hotel where the check out time is 10.00 am and where nobody told you you will be charged 10$ more because you tried to sleep a little bit more on Sunday morning... You ll find it ! An advise : go away !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. The hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment work in the area that houses the gymnasium and spa. Improvements to Internet connectivity and speed are scheduled to occur over the next 3 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The room was excellent value at the price we paid - clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The service at reception was also excellent - friendly and efficient.
However, if you were thinking of eating there I suggest you take the short stroll down to the Square and spend much less on a better meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants around George Street. I mean to say, at $35 a pop "youse guys" would expect the chef to get the steaks right at least, wouldn't you?

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for providing feedback. Disappointing to hear that your dining experience was not up to standard. I will be sure to discuss your comments with our F&B team to ensure improvements are made
Warm regards
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great stay, Comfortable, clean rooms and great big screen tv. Great staff. Nice breakfast, Met all our requirements. Would highly recommend it to all the people I know, Great value for money. Loved the going green option for room service and the dedication to the environment, Great going the extra mile.

Room Tip: Choose the tower mush better accomadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo1970NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for posting such positive feedback. It is great to hear that your stay was a success
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very good value in a comfortable,clean room. The staff member on reception was pleasant and welcoming. Room felt nice and modern - shame there was nothing there to tell you how to work the tv-ie what channels were available etc. The breakfast was good - wide range of choices. My only complaint was that we had booked a room for 3 people (and were charged for 3)yet there were only 2 towels provided, 2 cups & tea and coffee for two - it is annoying when you have booked for more than 2 people that they cannot prepare the room accordingly.

Room Tip: The room in the tower block was very pleasant but I would not stay in one of the 'motel' uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. My apologies for the oversight regarding third person amenities. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know
Warm regards
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We visit Palmerston North frequently to visit our children and their families. We usually stay at the Kingsgate as it is very convenient being central and the staff are always very friendly. We often have breakfast there and the food and service is fine.

Room Tip: We prefer a room in the Tower for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always pleasing to hear about the friendly staff, and i will ensure your comments are passed on
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

overall the room was alright The bed was comfortable, staff were pleasant and the room was clean. The problem with this hotel was the bathroom. It was old, felt and looked as if it had not been decorated since the 60s . The shower was awful, we had to turn the hot on full and you almost needed to run around to get wet as the pressure was so bad. The group of units we were in need a major upgrade.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main block are better than the outside units
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Refurbishment plans are in the pipeline to modernize the decor and facilities.
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Villas
The Villas
#21 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Property: Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing