We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed at the Travelodge for one night whilst driving from Wellington to Tauranga, and it was much better than we were expecting. Rooms were huge, we had 2 queen size beds in the room and had heaps of built-in wardope and desk space. Our room was spotless, as was the bathroom although the bathroom was looking slighly dated. Reception staff were all absolutely lovely and very friendly. All in all, it was a great place for a stopover, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our rooms to be of a high standard of both cleanliness and comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels as your stopover destination.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    147
    72
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
96
21
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a very nice stay at the Travelodge. Lovely big rooms with very comfortable beds, Great service and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen_knee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. We look forward to having you back to stay.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel is not in a pretty area of town and the rooms are very basic with dated decor. The staff however are extremely helpful and friendly and the Nosh Restaurant served better room service food than we've had in 5 star hotels. Overall good value for money. Comfortable beds.

Room Tip: With a family we were put in the tower which apart from above and below we had no adjoining rooms. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyStayInTopRated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel and I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team and meals – they are both a real credit to our hotel.

I loved your room tip also – having had young children, I could totally understand!

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I bagged a good rate for this hotel online, so the value for money was very good indeed. The bed was very comfortable, the room quiet, free off street parking, walking distance to everywhere as well. It's fairly well appointed, certainly has everything you need. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
The team at Travelodge Hotel are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback – look out for future specials, they do crop up from time to time – staying in touch with us via our Facebook page can be a great way of hearing what is coming up also.


Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was in Palmerston North for one night to visit family and found the Travelodge location great. There is secure undercover parking, and then the city is an easy walk to restaurants, shops etc. I was fortunate to get a last-minute-rate that was a real bonus.
The room had a queen size bed, a desk, sofa and separate bathroom with a shower over the bath. It was clean and well stocked and quiet even though it backs out onto a main street.
I did not try out the restaurant downstairs so cannot comment.
The check in was easy and trouble free.
This is not a luxurious hotel, but is fine for short stays and in a great location that is central but not noisy. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
The team at Travelodge Hotel are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. You are right the location is great, such an easy walk to the lovely George Street and the city centre. Do look out for future specials – staying in touch with us via our Facebook page can be a great way keeping up to date also.


Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I've been to Parmerston North for business and the hotel was booked by ny business partners. I have no idea if the hotel is in the center or not but there are several pubs and bars around. Anyway its not a decent district.

The staff was very helpful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. no special decoration but its more than a business traveller expects. The only complaint can be the room temperature. It was cold as 19C and the aircon was not enough to heat up the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel.

It is a shame that you did not enjoy the central location the hotel boasts – I am a little surprised that you opinion about the surrounding area, the only bar in the area is owned by and adjacent to the hotel and is certainly of a very high standard. The lovely George Street is also very close proximity however that only has well sought after boutique stores (great shopping!) and very well regarded cafes and restaurants.

I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team and rooms – they are both a real credit to our hotel.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed one night in the Travelodge Palmerston North. I managed to secure a very good last minute rate. I was so pleasantly surprised that from check in to check out, the service was fantastic, the rooms where super clean and fresh and the hotel itself had a fabulous location. Having stayed in the Kingsgate Palmerston North previously, I wasn't expecting much from a Palmerston North hotel but I was very surprised and would happily recommend Travelodge to anybody.

The only let down was that I arrived at the hotel at approx 1:30am after being out in Palmerston North and the nightbell buzzer wasn't working. I had forgotten my access card and the only way I gained access was by luck that another guest arrived at the same time and let me in. I questioned the receptionist when he gave me a new card and he told me it hadn't been working in years. To me this is simply not good enough and should have been resolved as soon as it was discovered it wasn't working as a matter of security. This is the one thing that made my overall rating "very good" instead of "excellent". Other than this my stay was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realaucklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel.

I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team, rooms and facilities, we are very proud to have such great feedback from guests like yourselves. The issue you encountered with being able to access the hotel at such an early time of the morning has been resolved. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
#4 Business Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. Accessible rooms and spa suite ideal for honeymooners. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing