We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time Travelodge guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Napier
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time Travelodge guest”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have rated our 2 night stay as very good, It could have been "excellent" but for
a few small problems. Firstly The room was very clean and in excellent condition
except the adjoining door between rooms could not be locked,and it was physically
impossible to fill the electric jug from the bathroom (and only) tap.
On returning my vehicle to the covered (under building) carpark, I asked reception
to close the entry roller door or return it to auto"swip card mode".One hour latter
when checking my valued 1927 model T Roadster, I found the roller door still open.
and accessible from the street. I asked reception again to close the roller door and
all it took was a push of a button at reception.
The final hiccup was the full breakfast at $ 23.00 PP. Firstly I asked if we could
have more lighting than the two lights that were on , and totally insufficient for a
large restaurant room. Only to be told that they were the only two lights working.
My main "gripe" was the food qaulity, Excellent variety, but the bacon was dripping
with oil and to me inedible,also the muffins and croissants were very dry.
Definatly not worth the high price.
Over all a pleasant stay apart the few problems.

Room Tip: Ask that the bed wheels be "chocked" so that you can sit up in bed and watch TV without t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueeyesNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear BlueeyesNapier

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us.
At Travelodge Palmerston north we pride ourselves on fast and effective service and we had a meeting to discuss the problem you experienced with the car park.
Currently we are focussing on upgrading our breakfast standards and focussing more on quality then quantity. Over than weekend we had a small problem with our supplier for bulbs, since the ones in the restaurant are specialized, we have since them replaced all the lights and found new supplier
Thanks again for you’re valued feedback and we hope to see you back soon at Travelodge to experience the changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    154
    73
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
99
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We took a couple of rooms for a Saturday night. Courteous, helpful front desk staff. Couldn't get a park in the secure parking but found on-road parking nearby. Rooms (and premises in general) were modern, clean and well equipped and bed was comfortable. Cabled Internet was available in the room at a price, but daughter complained of lack of wireless in her room.

Easy walking distance to the centre of town (the Square) and the George St cafés and restaurants, so suited us. Most other hotels and motels are on the other side of town, nearer Massey.

Room Tip: Secure your car park early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrpmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear hrpmrl
The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed the lovely George Street cafes and shopping areas of the city. And we often get great feedback about our comfortable beds,
We welcome you back at your next visit to Palmerston North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work, one night only. Check is was friendly, heavy in regional kiwi-slang, "yous fellas ok" - while it does not bother me a visitor to NZ may not understand what is being asked. My room was on the 4th floor, looking towards the square. It was basic, but clean and roomy. The hotel is not really set up for serious business travellers, no wifi in room, only in foyer and bar, no desk in room etc. I asked for a paper in the morning, but it never arrived, the staff did find a blackberry charger for me when asked, so can't really complain.

Car parking is secure, but limited, close to some great cafes - by library.

If you want a clean, basic hotel with a touch of Kiwiana this is your place. I would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Michael H
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us.
At Travelodge we pride ourselves on professionalism and high standards, and I agree that it’s not acceptable for team to use kiwi slang. Since you’re feedback we had a team meeting to discuss correct use of language.

We are currently investigating other possibilities for internet, to make it more attractive for all our guests. In recent times we have made free internet available in our lobby area for guests, and we will be working from there to upgrade our internet facilities to our valued guests
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here last night in a heritage room, one of the rooms in the front of the building. The room presentation was fine. It was renovated and had new carpet, bed was very comfortable. It was minimalistic but acceptable.Breakfast in the morning was a buffet. Food was nice, lots of variety. The gripes that I do have is the room we were in was very dark, because it only had 2 windows that looked out over onto another building and a roof. Other than the lovely staff member who checked us in the night before, the staff the next morning were unhelpful and not really interested. The Room- the walls were thin. Noises in other rooms could easily be heard, definitely put us off. The hotel isn't in the most well lit area of P North, and there were only about 10 secure parks. We had to park our car in an unlit area and were quite worried about it.. Next time we are in Palmerston North we will try elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for the main building, not a heritage room. Try and turn up early to secure one of very few carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam86nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Cam86NZ

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests even if it’s not great feedback; it gives us the opportunity to improve the product we offer for future guests.
Due to our location so close to the city centre we have only limited secure parking and for alternative parking we have street parking in front of the hotel, and our reception do regular checks to make sure all guest cars are safe. We have also during July spent a lot of time on working closely with our front office team to improve on overall level of service.
We welcome you back at your next visit to Palmerston North to see the great product that we have and the upgrade we have made since your last visit


Kind Regards
Rean vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The room was small but fit for purpose if you are on business or just need the Room for a sleeping. Good location, heat pump took a while to kick in but may stay was comfortable. Close to a great cafe if dinning in isn't your choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3urumana0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear T3urumana0
The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding our products. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed the lovely George Street cafes and shopping areas of the city.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Travelodge is what it represents. Well priced, clean and friendly. The room was adequate for an overnight business stay. Bathroom was old and tired. Service was pleasant and friendly, breakfast was ok.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear IanB1965
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We do pride ourselves on Good Clean service and it’s always nice to receive feedback on our service and standards.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in the old "heritage" part of the hotel which we found very pleasant. The room was large and comfortable, bathroom well appointed with lots of shelf space for putting things on. The receptionist warned us there was a function on that night and we may find it noisy until midnight as the function room was below us, however we heard no noise at all. Breakfast was a buffet with a good range of choices. The only issue we had was that we found it difficult to turn the air conditioning off and finally had to switch it off at the wall. More instructions would have helped. The hotel guide was well written with lots of good detail including the prices for phone calls.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel has character and is comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sher f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Sher f
The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. Especially about our heritage rooms, they are a bit different from normal hotel rooms. We have investigated you’re comments about our aircon instructions and will be making adjustments to make it easier for our guests to operate.
Thank you for taking the time to give us you’re feedback.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
#4 Business Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. Accessible rooms and spa suite ideal for honeymooners. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing