We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
106
173
87
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
173
87
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetmodern hotelbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicecheck in was easytwin roomgood sizewould stay againbed and pillowsheat pumpbusiness tripfree wifitown centre
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My lovely husband surprised me with a belated birthday present of a weekend in Palmerston North shopping.
He decided that we would stay at the Lodge as it had a great deal going, " stay in a refurnished
Victorian styled room, enjoy breakfast in the Nosh restaurant, and have a 11am late checkout."
SWEET.
On arrival there were posters all about informing us of the concert. We wondered how this would affect our sleep. We were lucky in that respect, our room was right in front of the entrance, far away from the concert.
Unfortunately, it was at the end of the concert that was the problem. For over an hour, outside and below our window, teens were laughing, yelling, swearing, etc... when leaving the venue.
It was so hard to get back to sleep.
The breakfast at Nosh was great, apart from cold scrambled eggs. We put this down to the time we arrived (9.55am) Restaurant staff were pleasant.
Upon booking out we informed the young receptionist our grievance of the concert guests leaving and her reply was ‘oh you were in room 104, right above the entrance way, did you come down and complain? (Arh No - not at 1pm in the morning we did not). Oh that is a shame, your account is ..... have a nice day in Palmerston North. This is the reason for the low mark. harsh maybe but it was like Bad luck you didn't come down to complain ?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamella-Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Pamella-ClareR

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. We do a lot of training with our team and especially our night team to walk around on the floors and see if there is any noise from street level. After your review I have discussed the correct way in dealing with complaints especially when we had an event on the previous night with our front office team
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we are working to improve our services and would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Palmerston north



Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We decided to have a weekend away and go see some friends we hadn't seen in a long time. We chose to stay here as our friends pretty much lived next door. Shortly after we booked, we found out that there was going to be a concert on at the hotel so we rang the hotel to ask if this was going to affect our stay.

Unfortunately the operator knew nothing about the concert and told us our room would be quiet, we think this was a call center and probably not the actual hotel itself. Subsequently the concert was very loud and interrupted some much needed sleep.

The following morning we had a great breakfast at the Nosh restaurant which is part of the hotel however, it would have been better if the staff weren't having a conversation with each other across the dining hall, a bit unprofessional, they should take a leaf out of the chefs book who had nothing but outstanding customer service and prepared brilliant food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HnG98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Hng98

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. In regards to your experience at breakfast I had a meeting with our team to make sure this will not happen to any guests in the future.
We would love to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to see the changes we made.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I wrote my review of the hotel at the end of 2012, along with a letter to the management expressing my concerns over the cost of the wine. It took until now for them to respond!! I did not have any problems with the ratings I gave, other than the poor response from Management to clients concerns. When they did respond they did not deal with my complaint.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmp236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear rmp236
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback in regards to response from management .Please accept my sincere apology and I would like to discuss this matter with you on your next visit to Palmerston North. In regards to the Wine price we are investigating other alternatives in regards to our selection of wines to reduce our overall costs.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here in August. We had a superior Queen room which was fairly small and dated, but clean and comfortable enough. The a/c unit was a bit noisy, but it was cool enough to turn this off at night so sleeping wasn't an issue. Staff overall were pleasant and helpful but Nosh Restaurant however is another experience. The place is so relaxed you either spend time looking for the waitress or helping yourself to your own menu and ordering directly with the chef. Room service also took a ridiculous length of time to arrive even for a very basic order.
Cuba Cafe on the next corner is worth a visit if you have a sweet tooth and is open for all day dining.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear White4551

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. In regards to our a/c units we are currently in the final stage to replace our current units that will be running less noisy and will be more sufficient.
I will be investigating your comments in regards to lack of service in Nosh. We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and personally I do not accept anything less.
We would love to welcome you back and see the changes we have made in the near future

Kind regards
Rean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Excellent place to stay, Good clean rooms, well designed. Staff were friendly and the location was great.

Room service is some of the best I've had, well priced but very yummy.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in the centre of town. Nice quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakib87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Nakib87

The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed our room service Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews