We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A quiet holiday”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful when we needed direction to the hospital at 1 am. The room was clean and as we were staying 6 nights, the room was cleaned and refreshed each day. We had a lovely quiet room on the 5th floor. It was easy walking to the Manawatu Basketball Arena, to the tournament we were attending and to the shopping square. Would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Bubbles 088
Thanks for reviewing the hotel I am pleased you had a pleasant experience and the hotel suited your needs. It’s always good to get positive feedback from our guests. We do pride ourselves on our team friendliness, and I will pass you’re feedback on to our team. I am also glad you enjoyed our central location and that our team gave you good directions during your stay
We welcome you back at your next visit to Palmerston North.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    146
    72
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
96
21
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First time visitor to the Travelodge.
Very clean & welcoming foyer/reception area making for a pleasant atmosphere.
My room was clean & well appointed with reasonably modern fittings & the bed very comfortable.
All staff were very pleasant & helpful.
The evening menu in Nosh was not what you would call extensive but certainly adequate & my meal, Lamb Shank, was very tasty & a dish I would have no problem recommending.
The downside of the stay for me was C rating I gave the breakfast buffet. The scambled eggs were very watery & the bacon was the cheap, reformed pork shoulder rubbish! To make matters worse the plates set out for breakfast we only marginally bigger than a side plate. I didn't need a small plate to make me eat less, the bacon & eggs did that!
If not for this breakfast I would have given the hotel an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear John P
Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great team. Currently we have a new Restaurant & Bar Manager and we are working around the clock to improve our F&B outlets to provide our guests with a great experience. We have also been experimenting with different Bacon suppliers to find the best product for our guests
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is quiet, and in a convenient location. The room was comfortable and parking secure. Breakfast at Nosh is good value. The conference dinner in the hotel was delicious. Great food and spacious area for dining.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters-the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Juliababy
The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed your conference dinner during your stay.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Rean vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My lovely husband surprised me with a belated birthday present of a weekend in Palmerston North shopping.
He decided that we would stay at the Lodge as it had a great deal going, " stay in a refurnished
Victorian styled room, enjoy breakfast in the Nosh restaurant, and have a 11am late checkout."
SWEET.
On arrival there were posters all about informing us of the concert. We wondered how this would affect our sleep. We were lucky in that respect, our room was right in front of the entrance, far away from the concert.
Unfortunately, it was at the end of the concert that was the problem. For over an hour, outside and below our window, teens were laughing, yelling, swearing, etc... when leaving the venue.
It was so hard to get back to sleep.
The breakfast at Nosh was great, apart from cold scrambled eggs. We put this down to the time we arrived (9.55am) Restaurant staff were pleasant.
Upon booking out we informed the young receptionist our grievance of the concert guests leaving and her reply was ‘oh you were in room 104, right above the entrance way, did you come down and complain? (Arh No - not at 1pm in the morning we did not). Oh that is a shame, your account is ..... have a nice day in Palmerston North. This is the reason for the low mark. harsh maybe but it was like Bad luck you didn't come down to complain ?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamella-Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Pamella-ClareR

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. We do a lot of training with our team and especially our night team to walk around on the floors and see if there is any noise from street level. After your review I have discussed the correct way in dealing with complaints especially when we had an event on the previous night with our front office team
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we are working to improve our services and would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Palmerston north



Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We decided to have a weekend away and go see some friends we hadn't seen in a long time. We chose to stay here as our friends pretty much lived next door. Shortly after we booked, we found out that there was going to be a concert on at the hotel so we rang the hotel to ask if this was going to affect our stay.

Unfortunately the operator knew nothing about the concert and told us our room would be quiet, we think this was a call center and probably not the actual hotel itself. Subsequently the concert was very loud and interrupted some much needed sleep.

The following morning we had a great breakfast at the Nosh restaurant which is part of the hotel however, it would have been better if the staff weren't having a conversation with each other across the dining hall, a bit unprofessional, they should take a leaf out of the chefs book who had nothing but outstanding customer service and prepared brilliant food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HnG98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Hng98

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. In regards to your experience at breakfast I had a meeting with our team to make sure this will not happen to any guests in the future.
We would love to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to see the changes we made.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I wrote my review of the hotel at the end of 2012, along with a letter to the management expressing my concerns over the cost of the wine. It took until now for them to respond!! I did not have any problems with the ratings I gave, other than the poor response from Management to clients concerns. When they did respond they did not deal with my complaint.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmp236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear rmp236
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback in regards to response from management .Please accept my sincere apology and I would like to discuss this matter with you on your next visit to Palmerston North. In regards to the Wine price we are investigating other alternatives in regards to our selection of wines to reduce our overall costs.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here in August. We had a superior Queen room which was fairly small and dated, but clean and comfortable enough. The a/c unit was a bit noisy, but it was cool enough to turn this off at night so sleeping wasn't an issue. Staff overall were pleasant and helpful but Nosh Restaurant however is another experience. The place is so relaxed you either spend time looking for the waitress or helping yourself to your own menu and ordering directly with the chef. Room service also took a ridiculous length of time to arrive even for a very basic order.
Cuba Cafe on the next corner is worth a visit if you have a sweet tooth and is open for all day dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear White4551

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. In regards to our a/c units we are currently in the final stage to replace our current units that will be running less noisy and will be more sufficient.
I will be investigating your comments in regards to lack of service in Nosh. We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and personally I do not accept anything less.
We would love to welcome you back and see the changes we have made in the near future

Kind regards
Rean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palmerston North
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. Accessible rooms and spa suite ideal for honeymooners. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing