We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Always Inn Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'La Vista Motel(Palmerston North)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Motor Inn(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Motel(Palmerston North)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braemar Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Abode Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
106
172
87
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
172
87
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetmodern hotelbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicetwin roomgood sizewould stay againbed and pillowsheat pumplamb shankfree wifibusiness tripcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful when we needed direction to the hospital at 1 am. The room was clean and as we were staying 6 nights, the room was cleaned and refreshed each day. We had a lovely quiet room on the 5th floor. It was easy walking to the Manawatu Basketball Arena, to the tournament we were attending and to the shopping square. Would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Bubbles 088
Thanks for reviewing the hotel I am pleased you had a pleasant experience and the hotel suited your needs. It’s always good to get positive feedback from our guests. We do pride ourselves on our team friendliness, and I will pass you’re feedback on to our team. I am also glad you enjoyed our central location and that our team gave you good directions during your stay
We welcome you back at your next visit to Palmerston North.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First time visitor to the Travelodge.
Very clean & welcoming foyer/reception area making for a pleasant atmosphere.
My room was clean & well appointed with reasonably modern fittings & the bed very comfortable.
All staff were very pleasant & helpful.
The evening menu in Nosh was not what you would call extensive but certainly adequate & my meal, Lamb Shank, was very tasty & a dish I would have no problem recommending.
The downside of the stay for me was C rating I gave the breakfast buffet. The scambled eggs were very watery & the bacon was the cheap, reformed pork shoulder rubbish! To make matters worse the plates set out for breakfast we only marginally bigger than a side plate. I didn't need a small plate to make me eat less, the bacon & eggs did that!
If not for this breakfast I would have given the hotel an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear John P
Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great team. Currently we have a new Restaurant & Bar Manager and we are working around the clock to improve our F&B outlets to provide our guests with a great experience. We have also been experimenting with different Bacon suppliers to find the best product for our guests
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is quiet, and in a convenient location. The room was comfortable and parking secure. Breakfast at Nosh is good value. The conference dinner in the hotel was delicious. Great food and spacious area for dining.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters-the location is quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Juliababy
The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed your conference dinner during your stay.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Rean vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My lovely husband surprised me with a belated birthday present of a weekend in Palmerston North shopping.
He decided that we would stay at the Lodge as it had a great deal going, " stay in a refurnished
Victorian styled room, enjoy breakfast in the Nosh restaurant, and have a 11am late checkout."
SWEET.
On arrival there were posters all about informing us of the concert. We wondered how this would affect our sleep. We were lucky in that respect, our room was right in front of the entrance, far away from the concert.
Unfortunately, it was at the end of the concert that was the problem. For over an hour, outside and below our window, teens were laughing, yelling, swearing, etc... when leaving the venue.
It was so hard to get back to sleep.
The breakfast at Nosh was great, apart from cold scrambled eggs. We put this down to the time we arrived (9.55am) Restaurant staff were pleasant.
Upon booking out we informed the young receptionist our grievance of the concert guests leaving and her reply was ‘oh you were in room 104, right above the entrance way, did you come down and complain? (Arh No - not at 1pm in the morning we did not). Oh that is a shame, your account is ..... have a nice day in Palmerston North. This is the reason for the low mark. harsh maybe but it was like Bad luck you didn't come down to complain ?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamella-Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Pamella-ClareR

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. We do a lot of training with our team and especially our night team to walk around on the floors and see if there is any noise from street level. After your review I have discussed the correct way in dealing with complaints especially when we had an event on the previous night with our front office team
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we are working to improve our services and would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Palmerston north



Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We decided to have a weekend away and go see some friends we hadn't seen in a long time. We chose to stay here as our friends pretty much lived next door. Shortly after we booked, we found out that there was going to be a concert on at the hotel so we rang the hotel to ask if this was going to affect our stay.

Unfortunately the operator knew nothing about the concert and told us our room would be quiet, we think this was a call center and probably not the actual hotel itself. Subsequently the concert was very loud and interrupted some much needed sleep.

The following morning we had a great breakfast at the Nosh restaurant which is part of the hotel however, it would have been better if the staff weren't having a conversation with each other across the dining hall, a bit unprofessional, they should take a leaf out of the chefs book who had nothing but outstanding customer service and prepared brilliant food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HnG98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Hng98

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. In regards to your experience at breakfast I had a meeting with our team to make sure this will not happen to any guests in the future.
We would love to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to see the changes we made.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews