We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Kauri Court(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braemar Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Motor Inn(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$99
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harringtons Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villas(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
103
172
84
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
172
84
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicetwin roomgood sizelocation is greatwould stay againbed and pillowsbuffet breakfastfree wifibusiness tripheat pumpcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I spent one night here in a cheap room, just to recharge after driving for quite a while.

The lobby and interior is quite nice. We didn't want to use the lift to begin with because we weren't too sure if it still worked!

We had a quick drink in the bar before going to bed, and it seemed nice enough. Obviously wasn't going to be much of an atmosphere on a Sunday night, but quite comfortable. Didn't look at the menu as we'd already eaten somewhere else.

Our room was tidy and the bathroom was huge! The bed was a bit solid, but wasn't too bad. Good TV options, although unfortunately as the NRL final was on Sky Sport 2, I couldn't watch it as they didn't have it. Neither did the bar! I wasn't going to stay up to watch it on Prime. Bugger.

Not long after we went to sleep, we heard the person next door arrive back in, and was able to hear their TV for about half an hour before they went to sleep. The walls were reasonbly thin! It did get a bit warm in the room, but we couldn't turn on the A/C as the power switch had been turned off and I wasn't tall enough to reach it.

Parking was good and secure - behind a security fence and easy access to the car/hotel.

Overall, not a bad place to stay, but if I were to stay again, I might pay a bit more for a better room.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a better room - don't go cheap!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobinthebottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear bobinthebottle
Thanks you for your feedback on your last visit. We really appreciate your feedback. It gives us the opportunity to change our operation and keep increasing our guest experience. Our heritage lift still operates and it provides great character to our hotel. It’s a bit of a shame that you experienced some noisy neighbours during your stay usually our guests experience a great night’s sleep especially on our heritage side.
We would love to welcome you back to really enjoy the quite tranquil surrounding we offer to our guests

Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful when we needed direction to the hospital at 1 am. The room was clean and as we were staying 6 nights, the room was cleaned and refreshed each day. We had a lovely quiet room on the 5th floor. It was easy walking to the Manawatu Basketball Arena, to the tournament we were attending and to the shopping square. Would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Bubbles 088
Thanks for reviewing the hotel I am pleased you had a pleasant experience and the hotel suited your needs. It’s always good to get positive feedback from our guests. We do pride ourselves on our team friendliness, and I will pass you’re feedback on to our team. I am also glad you enjoyed our central location and that our team gave you good directions during your stay
We welcome you back at your next visit to Palmerston North.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First time visitor to the Travelodge.
Very clean & welcoming foyer/reception area making for a pleasant atmosphere.
My room was clean & well appointed with reasonably modern fittings & the bed very comfortable.
All staff were very pleasant & helpful.
The evening menu in Nosh was not what you would call extensive but certainly adequate & my meal, Lamb Shank, was very tasty & a dish I would have no problem recommending.
The downside of the stay for me was C rating I gave the breakfast buffet. The scambled eggs were very watery & the bacon was the cheap, reformed pork shoulder rubbish! To make matters worse the plates set out for breakfast we only marginally bigger than a side plate. I didn't need a small plate to make me eat less, the bacon & eggs did that!
If not for this breakfast I would have given the hotel an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear John P
Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great team. Currently we have a new Restaurant & Bar Manager and we are working around the clock to improve our F&B outlets to provide our guests with a great experience. We have also been experimenting with different Bacon suppliers to find the best product for our guests
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is quiet, and in a convenient location. The room was comfortable and parking secure. Breakfast at Nosh is good value. The conference dinner in the hotel was delicious. Great food and spacious area for dining.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters-the location is quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Juliababy
The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed your conference dinner during your stay.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Rean vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My lovely husband surprised me with a belated birthday present of a weekend in Palmerston North shopping.
He decided that we would stay at the Lodge as it had a great deal going, " stay in a refurnished
Victorian styled room, enjoy breakfast in the Nosh restaurant, and have a 11am late checkout."
SWEET.
On arrival there were posters all about informing us of the concert. We wondered how this would affect our sleep. We were lucky in that respect, our room was right in front of the entrance, far away from the concert.
Unfortunately, it was at the end of the concert that was the problem. For over an hour, outside and below our window, teens were laughing, yelling, swearing, etc... when leaving the venue.
It was so hard to get back to sleep.
The breakfast at Nosh was great, apart from cold scrambled eggs. We put this down to the time we arrived (9.55am) Restaurant staff were pleasant.
Upon booking out we informed the young receptionist our grievance of the concert guests leaving and her reply was ‘oh you were in room 104, right above the entrance way, did you come down and complain? (Arh No - not at 1pm in the morning we did not). Oh that is a shame, your account is ..... have a nice day in Palmerston North. This is the reason for the low mark. harsh maybe but it was like Bad luck you didn't come down to complain ?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamella-Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Pamella-ClareR

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. We do a lot of training with our team and especially our night team to walk around on the floors and see if there is any noise from street level. After your review I have discussed the correct way in dealing with complaints especially when we had an event on the previous night with our front office team
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we are working to improve our services and would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Palmerston north



Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews