We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
106
173
87
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
173
87
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetmodern hotelbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicecheck in was easytwin roomgood sizewould stay againbed and pillowsheat pumpbusiness tripfree wifitown centre
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As the heading says we have stayed on many occasions. We have stayed in 4 or 5 other motels in Palmerston North but after staying at the Travelodge the first time it is the pick of the bunch. We haven't been able to find anything which compares value for money. With all our stays we have found the rooms to be clean and will presented. There is a bar fridge with tea and coffee facilities. The last 2 stays we have had breakfast included in the package for very little extra. The breakfast was adequate. Parking is a little tight and there has been times where we have had to park on the street. Location is great as it is within walking distance to the town centre and near by eating facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachies80a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear beachies80a

Would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable support over the past and hopefully in the future.
WE really pride ourselves on Value for money and its good to get some good feedback on our product
Due to our location being close to the city we will always have limited space in regards to parking. But we always try to manage our space effectively to make sure all guests have a parking space

Hope to see you soon and maybe we can discuss your stay and see where we can still improve

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I booked a "double room with sofa bed" direct on the Travelodge website. Interestingly it was over 10% cheaper than Booking.Com for same room. Plus, if you book direct ON a Tuesday (NOT "for" a Tuesday) then you can select a bonus of either a midday checkout or a 2-for-1 breakfast.

The hotel is not trying to be flash, but we found the room to be very clean, tidy & spacious. Super quiet aircon, and comfortable bed, Breakfast was, again, perfectly adequate.

The check-in "service" could be improved, but we found everything we needed - by asking.
However it was great to have free secure car packing, and a very easy walk to the quaint city Square with numerous good cafes & resturants etc on offer.

The hotel has a bar, resturant and meeting area - but no pool, gym etc.
A pleasant location for a short break away.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer, main wind (not the heritage wing) are quite spacious
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear BruceM
Thank you for your great feedback on our hotel. We really do appreciate any feedback but good feedback seems to really motivate us.
In regards to your check in we have discussed with our team to really focus on exceeding guest expectations since it will be the first impression of the guest.
Due to our location we don't have the space for a pool or gym but we are working with surrounding gyms to see if we can get some external support in this matter
We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Palmerston North
Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Staff at the front desk were excellent, very helpful, friendly and efficient. Room was well set out and very clean and tidy. Bar area was peaceful and the bar staff attentive. Overall a pleasant place to stay. Going back January.

Room Tip: Tried the older rooms by choice and they were nice but the ride in the antique elevator was great
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear KeithA
Thanks for your great feedback and rating
We look forward to see you in January

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in the older part of the travelodge in the renovated older style room. Clean and tidy although room a little small. Great retro pulley driven elevator with the metal pull along grate doors give sit an authentic feel. Close to town and secure parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spendkidsinheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Spendkidsinherita
Thanks for your time in providing some great feedback on the hotel. We really appreciate good feedback
Hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Booked room in Heritage section of hotel. Impressed with the blend of old decor with new and modern conveniences throughout. The 1920s elevator ads a little fun and nostalgia. Staff friendly and helpful. Great menu options beyond standard hotel fare. Enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahatoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear BruceAndSteph F
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our hotel.
It is a property with two sides with the old and the new. And its nice to year people still enjoy the older side of things. And our old lift is a real centre peace of our property

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews