We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
108
173
87
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
173
87
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secure parking room service staff were pleasant and helpful modern hotel business hotel the air conditioning outstanding customer service check in was easy twin room good size would stay again bed and pillows heat pump business trip free wifi town centre heritage
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The hotel certainly needs a makeover, the room was clean and the bed comfortable
The guy on reception looked pissed off when we turned up at night, and we weren't sure if it didn't want to talk to us or couldn't speak English

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Good Evening David,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback and are continually providing training to our staff with regard to customer service including regular performance reviews. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice for business twice in one week.
First stay was good however second stay was average. Greeted with alot of used coffee cups and full ashtray in carpark, carpets up stairs needed a good vacuum.
We got put into a studio room in the original hotel which was very small...requested move due to a banging noise which staff were very obliging and apologetic.
Room in new part of hotel is much nicer however room bothtimes were very hot and couldn't control temperature.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Good Evening Katie,

Thank you for spending some time to review your stay with us. We appreciate all guest feedback and are disappointed to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations. I am sorry both of your rooms were too warm, we are currently in the process of changing our air conditioning units to their internal spring temperatures so the rooms will be more comfortable and easier to control. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

2nd time I have stayed at Distinction - and will be the last.

Arrived on a typically wet and windy Palmy night - tired and hungry. Check in was without incident.

Ordered 2 starters from the room service menu - Chicken Caesar and Seared Scallops, both arrived about 15 mins later. Caesar was average, not many places do Caeser really well so didn't expect too much. Cut into the scallops to find all of them RAW in the centre. Contacted room service and asked for them to be replaced. Replacements arrived about 10 mins later - and guess what, same again!!!! Took entire plate downstairs and pointed out to reception that serving raw seafood is a recipe for disaster. By this point was over it - so asked for no replacement.

Went back to room and spent the night listening to something banging in the wind on the outside of the 4th floor.

Checked out next morning to find I had still been charged for the scallops from the night before. Requested and received credit.

Departed the same way I arrived - tired and hungry!!!

Get your act together Distinction!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Scottyboykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Good Afternoon Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your room service meal did not meet your expectations.
We are uncertain as to where the banging on the building is coming from and our maintenance person is investigating this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This is a great little hotel in the middle of town. The rooms are clean and tidy. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. I was here for a conference and the venue was outstanding. The buffet food was delicious. Impressed

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P468VTianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and conference centre meet your requirements. We have recently welcomed some new staff into our Restaurant team and it is great to hear that the buffet food was delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palmerston North for your next event.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Distinction Hotel was okay. The reception was very welcoming apart from sending us to the wrong floor. The room very nice on arrival. I found the lighting to be inadequate as it wasn't bright enough. Also when looking at the view the window was dirty. Restaurant okay wasn't too impressed with the breakfast menu. I like fresh fruit on my cereal and they only had a few slices of pineapple kiwifruit and mango instead of bowls of fruit. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Raewyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Good Afternoon Raewyn,

Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback from your stay with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming and I am sorry to hear that there was some confusion with the location of your room upon arrival.
Thank you for your suggestion regarding fruit on our breakfast buffet. We have passed your comments along to the Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palmerston North again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews