We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Motor Inn(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Always Inn Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
A'La Vista Motel(Palmerston North)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Motel(Palmerston North)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braemar Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Abode Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
106
172
87
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
172
87
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetmodern hotelbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicetwin roomgood sizewould stay againbed and pillowsheat pumplamb shankfree wifibusiness tripcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Does not look much from outside. Found all staff very friendly and helpful. Got a great rate with Buffet Breakfast included. Breakfast was good. Rooms clean. Comfortable Beds. Had room in Tower block. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NthShoreTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
It is great that we were able to offer you a value rate with breakfast included and you enjoyed this each morning. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manawatu again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We chose the Distinction for a one night stay as we got a great cheap rate and only needed a place to get ready for an event and then sleep and leave early the next day.
Pulling up outside the hotel I was a bit worried, as it certainly doesn't look great, but as soon as you get inside the hotel is in much better shape.
The staff were friendly. The room, although obviously older (dated dark blue bathroom vanity bench etc) was very CLEAN! Often hotels of this age will have dirty/mouldy grout in bathrooms etc, but this place was clean, I looked for grotty areas and couldn't find any :-)
bed and pillows were comfortable. Air conditioning was adequate. Restaurant downstairs apparently good (we only had a snack from room service but that was nice).
Location nice and central, and several good cafes a short stroll away.
Perfect for what we needed for a short stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SLNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us in Palmerston North. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great housekeeping team who are incredibly dedicated to keeping our hotel spic and span and looking its best. We look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Thank you Distinction, Palmerston North for looking after me during my short stay away from home. A Classy place with friendly staff. Very nice rooms with everything you need. Free & safe carpark for guests. Connected to the Nosh Restaurant - Delish food! I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Good Morning Stella,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback from you stay in Palmerston North. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for your overnight in the city. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the food available in our Nosh Restaurant and this was enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Was here for a conference and was lucky enough to be held at the Distinction.

Not only was the conference facilities first rate so was my room. It was so big and spacious.

The black out curtains worked a treat. The bathroom had an amazing hair dryer. (Plus the normal shampoo, conditioner and lotion)

The bed was so very comfy as were the pillows.

The restaurant had a great buffet breakfast which covered everything. So yummy!!

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Levinite70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel.It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the conference facilities worked well for your function. We are pleased to hear that you found the room to be comfortable and the amenities provided made your stay pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manawatu again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk to city centre of Palmerston North. It offers standard facilities.

Staff are friendly. The room is clean. WiFi is free with standard speed of around 4-5 Mb.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nuttkun 納
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Palmerston North. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the close proximity to the city centre. We have a great location that is within walking distance to the city centre but is far enough away for a peaceful nights sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews