We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NZ Beef and Lamb award winning dish 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nero Restaurant

Nero Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Feilding, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NZ Beef and Lamb award winning dish 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been eating at Nero for many years, and this would have to be one of the best beef dishes Scott Kennedy and his team have put together. There was just something special about the combination of beef, flavours and dauphine potatoes that made it irresistible!! Well done team - you have out-done yourselves this year!! :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Watters728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    66
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Enjoyable meal at this restaurant. Excellent, friendly service. Can recommend Crumbed Brie for Entree, Mains - Pork Fillet wrapped in Bacon was delicious. Also ordered Lamb Rack for Mains. Both were delicious and presentation was superb! For dessert, we ordered Chocolate Lovers, it was totally wonderful! Make sure you visit this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
222 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have not been to this restaurant before and decided to try it as we had a discount voucher that was due to expire soon. We decided Nero's was well worth the visit and will add it on to our "special occasion dinner" list of restaurants in Palmerston North. We were greeted warmly on arrival and shown to our table by the maitre'd. Our waitress arrived promptly and we were offered water and asked about other drinks. They were attentive without being intrusive throughout our meal. The atmosphere is intimate with subdued lighting although we found the cow hide seat backs a bit of a surprise and almost at odds with the rest of the place! The garlic pizza bread is a good size starter for 2-4 people to share. The chicken dish was delicious served in a filo wrap on a pumpkin risotto. The broccollini side was tasty with almonds and a hollandaise sauce. The steak was average and not quite well cooked enough for the eater and the duck fat chips were left in preference for a much more palatable side of fries. No room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had an evening at Nero's recently and had such a good night, feel compelled to post a review. All six of us have since raved on what a great night it was. Highlighted by Superb cuisine. Along with friendly, attentive service, made for a great night out. Cheers Nero's

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1AWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An amazing evening at Nero's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I have been to Nero's a few times before, mainly for family occasions however, in January I went in for dinner with 2 close friends. We had a fantastic time! An amazing atmosphere paired with friendly and professional staff, beautiful mouth watering food and an exceptional wine list! As a group of passionate foodies we were very impressed with every aspect of the dining experience. We indulged in the prawn and cheese soufflé entree, and I had the Best Of Argentina. An Argentinian inspired beef dish comprising of a beautiful fillet of beef cooked to perfection (rare of course), a slow cooked short rib and house made chorizo with broccoli with hollandaise on the side. Absolute perfection. I highly recommend Nero's to everyone and intend on going back again and again.

Helpful?
Thank AlexJCoupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nero Restaurant also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Nero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing