We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Awatea Park Motel
Nearby Hotels
Destiny on Fitzherbert(Palmerston North)
US$134
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legends Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Studios Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
US$123
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harringtons Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$93
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drovers Motor Inn(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
3
11
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
11
5
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Travelled to Palmerston North for an interview, from Taranaki. On arriving at the motel we parked at the back of the property and walked down the drive towards the front of the conference room. Missed a small whiteboard giving directions and was then greeted by the host swearing at us and yelling at us as to where the *** we thought we were going and were we blind. A very unpleasant start to the day and I certainly hope to never need to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Netti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our studio room was a huge disappointment cleanliness wise and we brought this to the attention of the hosts soon after arrival. To their credit they removed our belongings after we left the room and relocated us to a better unit which was much cleaner. We were staying for three nights so this was appreciated as we would not have stayed in the original unit. Our new room faced onto the ajoining park and was quiet with a tranquil view so I would recommend these units in preference to the rest. We found the hosts to be obliging and we appreciated their willingness to fix the problem.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing out onto the park for a lovely quiet sleep. This motel is not so close to town but is handy to good walks and Massey Uni.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a well set up clean and comfortable motel at the Southern end of town. The host is friendly, and the breakfast was fine. I was fortunate to have one of the rooms that looked out onto the adjacent Awatea Park and enjoyed the beautiful scenery, trees and bird song.

The only sour note for me was the Internet charging. In my experience the majority of NZ motels see the benefits of offering complimentary access to a good Internet service. This motel asks for $10 per night per device, and for me this is by far the dearest rate I have been asked in NZ and the "per device" means you can't connect a laptop and an ipad without buying two connections. I chose to use my own mobile phone to avoid this.all this.

In all other respects, I was very pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one that backs onto the park. The ones on the Fitzherbert St side of the courtyard are adjacent to a very busy road.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights here .The studio room was very nice, clean, compact, well serviced with clean towels each day and the kitchen and bathroom cleaned each day. Comfortable bed, quiet at night so slept well. The room was warm and only needed heating for about 15 minutes each morning. The ranch sliders from the units opened up onto the Awatea Park, which was beautiful and outside seating for each unit meant you could have a private meal or drink in the park where there are large trees a number of Tui, a stream with a mother duck and her ducklings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently stayed one night at this comfortable motel and found it provided everything we needed. It was within walking distance of a good restaurant, 'The Elms' and our unit backed onto a small park so our small dog was catered for too. The heater noise was rather intrusive but it did the job as it was certainly cold in P.N.
The hosts were well versed in customer service.
The only niggle we had was ... why did the cleaners miss emptying the coffee pot?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews