We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks All the Boxes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Kauri Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Kauri Court
Auckland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ticks All the Boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Are you looking for a well appointed, very clean and spacious motel room? Do you like a large, firm and comfortable bed, a well-appointed big bathroom and a good kitchen? And is a quiet location within 5 minutes drive of the city centre important? You won't do better than Kauri Court, which is a solidly built, fully refurbished motel with both upstairs and ground floor units and good parking. The owners are very flexible too, allowing us to turn up late and check out early as we travel from Auckland to stay here when motor racing at Feilding, and they also happily accomodate our race cars on trailers in their car park. We get great service, friendly people and a good nights sleep every time. We are regular (annual) customers here and have no reason to look elsewhere. Recommend.

Room Tip: Access to the upstairs rooms is via an external staircase so keep this in mind if you have young chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanfamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
14
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donnybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is another one I would return to. It was in a quiet location even though only a couple of blocks from the main part of town. It was clean, room was quite big enough, armchairs for watching TV or just relaxing was a plus. Kitchen layout was one of the best I've seen with even a bench (table) and chairs to eat at. Hostess was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 303heatherlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Marvellous accommodation with a high spec and fully equipped kitchen (full oven, hob, microwave and even a dishwasher !), also high spec TV's, washing machine, tumble-dryer, comfy beds, grill barbecue on site, good speed wireless internet - what more could you wish for ? The proprietors were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. It was the best place that we can ever remember staying in - during many years of visiting New Zealand. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Basic, tidy, big room that was a boring layout, but had all we needed.. But was not cleaned after the person prior to us. There was half used milk in the fridge, more than half used soap in the bathroom and the bed was not made properly (I realised when I pulled back the covers and it was like someone had just got out- not cool). That was all a shame that this was overlooked as it didn't make me feel comfortable. Never mind, I'd give it another go. But seriously, make sure the room is cleaned! This matters a lot to people :D

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Within minutes of having enquired (in person) after the apartment accommodation at this establishment, the gentleman at reception, presumably the owner, proceeded to tell us "these are quite expensive". Perhaps he thought we did not look like we could afford it? We were neither rude nor dressed inappropriately so my daughter and I were both very surprised and quite offended by his less-than-friendly attitude. He did, however, show us one of the apartments which was modern, clean and well appointed. Too little too late I'm afraid as I had already decided that we were not going to be treated like second class citizens. Unfortunate as this could have been a pleasant long term accommodation option for my daughter who next year is completing the final year of her degree.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaN289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Owner at Comfort Inn Kauri Court, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your review You have brought to our attention problems that we were not aware off.The heater timer had just been replaced and had not be reset by the electrician to it maximum time.It has been reset now.Looking to attach black out linings to the drapes. Very sorry for the lack of sleep.The layout for the kitchen and lounge will are looking at ways to improve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked this place using our FlyBuys points and when we arrived we were greeted by this little gem.The Apartments were very well appointed and very quiet.
The only let down was a bathroom door that was stuck.
Overall it was great find in PN.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had arranged to stay at Kiwi Studios in Palmerston North but on arriving were sorely disappointed, so rang around that evening and spoke to the lovely woman at Kauri Court. She was able to provide us with a discount on a two bedroom serviced apartment which she said had been built in April 2011. We arrived the next morning quite frazzled and hoping to find a nice place.

Kauri Court looks uninviting and old from the road but don't let this put you off. This is the older part of the motel, and I can't review what that is like. But down the back of the driveway are several serviced apartments which are large, immaculately presented, and actually bigger than some houses I've been in. Even better, there are inter-joining doors between buildings which can be secured and unsecured in such a way that apartments can be made 3-4 bedrooms, great for families or groups on business. The full kitchen and laundry was great. A heat pump/ air conditioner meant we were toasty warm in the middle of a cold winter. Flat screen tv in the lounge, and one in each bedroom as well. A separate toilet, and also second toilet in the large, well-appointed bathroom with spa bath. Wifi internet very affordable and charged for data used, not time spent. My mother and I were travelling with my two small children and my father joined us later on the trip. We were tired and frazzled in every other regard, but our accommodation was so lovely and spacious that we were able to take time out from each other (and the kids) and had a lovely stay.

I would honestly never even bother staying anywhere else in Palmerston North. Kauri Court's serviced apartments are absolutely THE BEST accommodation in this city and we will certainly return. The hosts are friendly and so helpful. I can not speak highly enough of this place. Don't bother with the old motel bit - try the serviced apartments. Best place I've ever stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a serviced apartment, not the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heavypetal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.1 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose City Motel
Rose City Motel
#5 of 36 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Drovers Motor Inn
Drovers Motor Inn
#13 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Palmerston North
Quest Palmerston North
#2 of 10 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kauri Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kauri Court

Property: Comfort Inn Kauri Court
Address: 248 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand (Formerly Kauri Court Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Kauri Court 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Kauri Court is a well maintained property that offers 4 star accommodation, with 12 studio units and 4 well appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments opened in May 2011. Located 1.5 kms from the CPD and 3 kms from Massey University. Close to parks and major sport venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Kauri Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing