We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Coachman
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A lovely modernized hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and a good menu. I'd stay again for sure, all the facilities you could ever need. Espresso coffee is quite ordinary however, not worth the extra cost at the extensive breakfast buffet. 45 minute walk to Massey University.

Room Tip: Try for a room out the back, traffic noise can intrude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJKingNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    84
    46
    17
    1
See reviews for
38
58
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I went there for high tea on 18th August 2013 with a team from work. It was an absolutely amazing experience. The atmosphere and food was amazing. The pastry chef is such an amazing cook. Everything was so authentic and the young girl playing the piano was very talented. We can't wait to be able to go again next year. Thank you Coachman Hotel for a wonderful afternoon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have stayed three times and it is the nicest "Motel" I have stayed in a country town-VERY Clean-nice folks, great service and great food-AND did I double mention-very clean!!!!
Yummy little cookies with the coffee, A HUGE bath and shower and did I mention VERY Clean-loved it again on the thir time!!
And a cool little gym close to the river if you like to run and very close to all in town

Room Tip: Pick the suite-very fun and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having had a great family meal at the restaurant some time ago, I thought this would be a great place to stay next time I was in "Palmerston North, how wrong I was. The room was very basic, every item we touched was either not working or was broken, had a cold bed that night, the carpet was very lumpy thought we were walking on stones,some of the light switches weren't working, bed was also lumpy not sure what was going on not a very good night sleep.Bedspread had stains on it, did not find the room all that clean, not blaming the cleaners, as this might be a cost cutting by management, one night stay was enough for us both.

Room Tip: Look at room before you take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinandmorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
I have looked into the history of your stay and have communicated the issues that you raised with all departments that were involved. We want you to rest assured that we are one of the top properties in Palmerston North and our goal is for 100% guest satisfaction.

If you are travelling through Palmerston North again in the future please consider giving us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We bought a special night including the room, 3 course meal for 2 and breakfast for 2 the next morning.

We were contacted and asked if we would mind being upgraded to a suite as the restaurant was full that night with special functions and we could be served in our rooms. Not a problem and we enjoyed the upgrade and meal UNTIL the restaurant disgorged its diners into the foyer and with the noise coming up the stairwell it did seem as though the party was in our suite!

I lasted until 12.10am before complaining and it did stop about 3/4 of an hour later. By this time I was wide awake and furious. George is hearing impaired so he slept through the lot!!

Had lovely breakfast and left much earlier than intended.

I wrote to the Manager who had already been advised of the night's happenings and he apologised and we received a voucher for a free night in a deluxe room to be used within the next 6 months.

Well done Coachman for accepting that the bad night was not in line with your usual standard and making the best out of a bad time. We will continue to each at your restaurant at lunchtime and use the voucher in weeks to come.

Thank you.

Room Tip: As far away from the restaurant as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

It's been a while since we came to the Coachman but we always enjoyed coming here. We have stayed at the Hotel in the past but as we live here now we only go to the restaurant. This place is very convenient to stay at as it is close to town and it has it's own restaurant. It also has an underground parking area. The rooms were always clean and tidy. Service was great and if we ever move away from here and needed to come to Palmerston North we would certainly come here and stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
268 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here as part of our cycling Tour of NZ, thus I'm unsure of the nightly room rates.

It served our purposes fully. The room was sizeable allowing us to store our bikes in and still have room to move. The bathroom was smart although on closer inspection the wallpaper was peeling somewhat but that's just being picky.

Our room overlooked the small pool. Entrance was via patio windows which was a little unusual. I struggled to find light switches in this room but once I did (on the patio door frame!) the room was brightly lit.

One big plus was free wifi. In this day and age why can't more places offer this simple convenience? Big thumbs up for that Coachman.

The hotel is conveniently located for restaurants and shops. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#16 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Property: Hotel Coachman
Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing