We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We would have stayed longer if we had the chance. What a lovely host and excellent facilities. We stayed in a family unit and loved the space esp after being in hotel rooms for a while. We found the owner so lovely and accommodating. Great local knowledge of restaurants etc.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michelle_Mike35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your positive review and we are so pleased you enjoyed our two bedroom family unit to spread out in and relax. It was our pleasure to assist you with restaurants and amenities in Palmerston North.

Please come and visit again!

Regards.
Roselle & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

we stayed here for three nights and found it to be the best accommodation that we have stayed at in Palmerston North. The rate was very reasonable compared to other places that we have stayed at for the same price. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with lazyboy chairs and an up to date t.v. The little extra thoughtful touches like scissors in the kitchen drawer and the offer of calci trim milk or standard were appreciated. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are booked in to stay there again next week. All credit to the lovely hosts.

Room Tip: the downstairs studio rooms have wet floor showers instead of spa baths if you like a great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Wow! Thanks for the great review and so pleased you had a positive experience at Shadzz Motel. We aim to have competitive pricing and to have nice rooms, where guests can relax.

We look forward to see more of you both.

Regards.
Roselle & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We only stayed for one night, but the welcome was warm and the accommodation excellent.
Our room had a spa bath - a luxury not expected but thoroughly enjoyed.
We would certainly recommend Shadzz Motel to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: If our room was anything to go by then all rooms must be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enliven64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're glad you enjoyed a break with us and that you really liked your room. We do keep a consistent high standard in all the rooms!

The spa baths are relaxing and a nice place to unwind.

We hope you will visit us again sometime soon.

Regards.
Roselle & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here over the weekend while attending a squash tournament. From the phone call booking the accommodation the host were very pleasant and helpful. The location to town was a nice easy stroll of about 800mtrs to the square, which has plenty of restaurants, shops and the mall is just around the corner. The room itself was spacious although only a studio room, 50 channels on the TV and a spa bath to boot. Very relaxing and a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

It is our pleasure to be helpful and pleasant and it is not difficult when dealing with nice guests.

The 50+ Sky tv channels provide a lot of enjoyment to our guests and our location makes for an easy stroll into the CBD.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The room is very spacious and extremely well appointed, (furniture and kitchenette) while the décor was much better than I expected. Very clean throughout and the bed was very comfortable while the linen and towels were all very good quality. If you like spa baths then you would not be disappointed by the spa in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Further away from the road as possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwis_in_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are really pleased you enjoyed our spacious, 4 star motel! We appreciate your review and comments.

In the last few years we have painted throughout all the units and put down new carpet, giving the units a fresh look.

We are glad you had a comfortable night's sleep and enjoyed our quality linen. The spa bath is a nice place to relax and recharge.

We hope you will visit us again and happy travelling!

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Though this is an older property it appears to have been refurbished to a high standard, but still keeping with the age of the property.

The studio unit was one of the largest I have seen, with a 3 seater couch and lazy boy recliner. Large bathroom and double glazed windows on the road side - the property is close to the CBD and you have to expect some traffic noise.

Very clean and very friendly and welcoming hosts. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Your comments are appreciated and the time taken to write them!

Our motel was built in 1995 and it has been maintained very well by ourselves and previous managers.

You are correct our studio units are very spacious and in fact all our units are of a generous size.

We hope you will visit us again the near future.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Massive thank you to Roselle & Peter at Shadzz for making us and all our guests feel very welcome!! Nothing was ever a problem and they were more than happy to make last minute adjustments when required for our wedding party. We really appreciated your help and everyone was very pleased with their rooms which was great. All the rooms were clean, tidy and modern offering the basic necessities that you'd expect at a motel. We have traveled all over Europe in 5 star hotels and it's great to see that Kiwi hospitality is right up there with the best!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review and we are so glad your Wedding went well. We really enjoyed having your guests stay with us.

We appreciate your compliment about the calibre of our property in comparison with five star hotels in Europe.

The comfort of our guests, amenities and cleanliness in the units are very important to us, along with good old fashioned service.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter Gouwland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#12 of 25 in Palmerston North
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose City Motel
Rose City Motel
#5 of 35 in Palmerston North
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Palmerston North
Quest Palmerston North
#2 of 10 in Palmerston North
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre

Address: 145 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range: £52 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Spacious, ultra clean, upmarket units, includes 2 Access units. All designated non-smoking inside Units serviced daily. Ample free car parking. Conference Venue for 20 to 30 delegates. Modern guest laundry with Washer and Dryer, Free gym work out or swim at CLM Health & Fitness & Lido Aquatic Centre in Park Road. All major credit cards accepted Free golf (at Palmerston North Golf Club-conditions apply) Portacot & High chair available Cooked / Continental breakfast delivered to your unit. Same day drycleaning service. Air conditioning / heat pump in 2 of our studios. Chargeback & delivery services from most city Restaurants . BBQ available to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing