We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay - lovely hosts”
Review of Big Five Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Five Motel
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here for four nights recently with our baby daughter. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. Rooms were spotless and well-kept.

The one downfall is the wi-fi. It didnt seem to work in the room very well - proper reception could only be had outside in the carpark.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into the wi-fi issue to try and improve reception.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

At the very last minute my husband and I decided to go to the Wings over Wairarapa airshow in Masterton on the weekend. Masterton was fully booked so we stayed in Palmerston North at the Big Five Motel. Friendly service, spacious and clean rooms with comfy beds awaits! At $139 for the night it was great. Close to city centre etc too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and still got to see the Wings over Wairarapa.
Come stay with us next time you come down this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Great location near hockey turf. Motel is clean and modern and at $60 a night it was a great deal.
Owners also very helpful, also a easy walk to the city. Some rooms are quite large and many have their own ensuite. No swimming pool but there are public pools very close.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are larger and many have ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suresh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to host you hockey team. Come stay with us next time you or your team mates are passing through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A great place to stay immaculately clean and tidy, also a close walk to the YMCA, Rose Garden and Lido Swimming Pool the best location ever and only a couple of minutes drive to town.
Great friendly service and was available when needed.
Also paid a worthwhile price for staying there two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for your glowing review. Your satisfaction is our priority. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Wow! I stay in a lot of motels/hotels, and what a wonderful friendly greeting on my arrival here. What a friendly lovely couple. Check in delightful, walked to our room, paper handed, and told to contact them for anything at all. Room immaculate, spotless, roomy, comfortable, modern and the kids loved the leopard theme and do did I! So much thought and care taken to create a lovely room, even biscuits and chocolates. We are in a back unit single floor, quiet and private. I am so impressed that I am writing this review while I am still here! I rely on trip advisor to help with my choice of accommodation, and trust me this place is fantastic, weather a couple, or family, business or pleasure, I won't stay anywhere else now in Palmerston but here! Very close to town also. Thank you so much big 5 you are a credit to the industry and yourselves! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thank you for your glowing review. We try our best to make everyone's stay with us as comfortable as possible and give you a home from home. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here with my teenage son for 3 nights in the one bedroom unit at the back of the property.
The unit was very clean and all the fittings/furnishings were of a high standard. The owners were very helpful in storing some cold and frozen goods for me, and even lent us an ice-cream scoop one night.
The main living room however is very small and I think too much is put into this small space i.e. the kitchen, a dining table, a single bed, a bunk set and a sofa. Opening the blinds and window was difficult as it was obscured by the bunk set. The bathroom is off the bedroom and anyone else staying has to go through the bedroom.
This unit would probably be best suited to a couple.
However our stay was pleasant and comfortable, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0lyn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. We will bear your comments in mind in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I was in Palmerston North on business and i needed to be close to town and have WiFi
Big Five Motel was the answer . The reception is helpful and the management very approachable . They gave me restaurant recommendations and advise on where to park in the city of cyclists.My unit was not the largest but had everything you need including generous supplies of biscuits which did my waistline no favors.The shower was amazing the water pressure massaged my back and gave a instant warm up on a cool afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#12 of 25 in Palmerston North
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
A'La Vista Motel
A'La Vista Motel
#17 of 25 in Palmerston North
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Five Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Five Motel

Address: 154 Park Road, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Settlers Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Five Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Five Motel is situated in a quiet location off the main street of Palmerston North yet still within walking distance of most civic amenities. If you are looking for great accommodation at affordable rates with friendly service, our motel is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Five Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing