We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Five Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Five Motel
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely people working at Big Five....from reception to the cleaning crew....the rooms were a wonderful surprise as they have been updated from the pictures on the internet.....I had booked for the reviews on the owners not on the decor!!
I think that updated pics on the website is essential so that people know who up to date they are.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank s268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for such a positive review. We have been somewhat slow in updating our photos on the web following our refurbishing. Glad that you were happy with the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
13
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Each time we visit Palmerston North we stay at the Big Five, the room we had was comfortable and my two daughters who had never stayed before were very impressed and loved the wild animal theme in the room. Had to stop them from trying to pinch the cushions.

Room Tip: the room we had was the two bedroom unit it had two bathrooms and with two girls this made life very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your girls loved the theme of the unit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This room was way too small for two people travelling as singles the bed was divided into two and we were very close to each other!! Not ideal. Also rain and wind hitting the glass wall kept me awake all night.. What a shame!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We alway try to accommodate our guests if they require more space, so when you next visit. request a ground floor unit instead. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We reserved the deluxe room as the standard room looked very small after seeing some of photos posted on here by other posters. We were then offered upgrade to a one bed studio when we arrived. The studio was a nice size with a single in the living room, a small kitchen area, dining table and a two seater sofa. All very well appointed especially kitchen with pots and pans etc . Nice high pressure shower.
Wifi was expensive however and not very fast> 100mb=$5.
Friendly staff who offered good recommendations for dinner and helped with directions. This place is a little far away from the center of town so a car is essential. I don't think there was anywhere within walking distance for coffee or dinner.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the upgrade. We did have issues with the wi-fi and our technician has since resolved this. IT would be our pleasure to host you when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Very new and clean motel in central city. Comfortable king size bed with high quality linen and excellent shower. Studio room is small meaning the bed became my desk as is often the case these days. Very good value from very friendly welcoming South African host Jenni. Even had chocolates waiting in the room. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will see you when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed two nights recently in a suite which was clean and the bed very comfortable. The room had a king bed, a bunk set up and a single bed, kitchen and en suite. Parking outside the door all on ground level. Breakfast both mornings was excellent. Complimentary wifi was a bonus. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return when you are next in town. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 10 days in Palmy and our stay at Big Five made it a pleasant one. The extra touches were special like Easter eggs at Easter. The owners could not have been more welcoming and friendly. We were able to cook in the well equipped kitchen each night. Very clean and well appointed.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for spending your time with us and writing this review. We strive to make your stay with us a special and memorable experience for you.
We look forward to your next visit later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#16 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwi Studios Motel
Kiwi Studios Motel
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpha Motor Inn
Alpha Motor Inn
#12 of 36 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kauri Court
Comfort Inn Kauri Court
#10 of 36 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drovers Motor Inn
Drovers Motor Inn
#13 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose City Motel
Rose City Motel
#5 of 36 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Five Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Five Motel

Property: Big Five Motel
Address: 154 Park Road, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Settlers Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Five Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Five Motel is situated in a quiet location off the main street of Palmerston North yet still within walking distance of most civic amenities. If you are looking for great accommodation at affordable rates with friendly service, our motel is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Big Five Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing