We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gallery Cafe Restaurant

The Gallery Cafe Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An inviting oasis in the Central Business District of Palmerston North, The Gallery offers delicious food, an excellent wine list, and stimulating art. A visit here is a wonderful opportunity to indulge the senses, to experience our Mediterranean/European influenced cuisine, friendly service, fine Vittoria coffee and an appreciation for local as well as international artwork, music and other talent.Vibrant colours in artwork create a visual sensation just as food and wine create textural sensations on the palate. Appreciation is personal in all art forms, and it is our desire to satisfy your needs with rewarding your senses.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have been here twice recently with friends and each time it has been a good experience. Our meals were well presented, very tasty and arrived in suitable time. The menu is not vast but has the usual meat, fish, poultry, pasta and vegetarian choices plus a few others you would expect and the wine list has a good range of wines. Friendly and attentive service makes a difference at a restaurant and The Gallery does well in this respect. The decor could be updated but it doesn't really affect the dining experience, so overall an enjoyable experience on both occasions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozza27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dessert with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had a meal elsewhere and decided to try here for dessert on a Friday evening. It was early evening and very quiet. The decor is lovely and welcoming. I like that you can actually see your meal because it it well lit. We had good friendly service from the waitress. I was disappointed that there were no hot desserts to choose from since it is Winter. My friends enjoyed their choices of desserts. I was a bit disappointed with mine for the price. It was a meringue nest with summer fruit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Gallery is one place in Palmerston North where you can guarantee to get a great quality meal of reasonable proportions every time that you dine. The service is consistently of a high standard. The menu is adequately varied and the kitchen staff will accommodate changes if requested. What probably gains my attention every time I dine are the sauces that accompany the main meal. They just set off what ever has been presented in a great manner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I visited The Gallery with some work friends and found the Food was pretty delicious, service was pretty good, it was a quiet evening with not many other people in. It was a nice welcoming environment and I had salt and pepper squid with salad, it was one of the best salt and pepper squid dishes I have ever tasted, even the salad was delicous with a nice light dressing. I would definitely visit again. The menu had a lot of variety to it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I was made to feel like an old friend who had come to visit by all the staff! So accomodating of food allergies and the wine selection is sublime! I highly recommend any seafood dish

Helpful?
Thank Beth129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gallery Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to The Gallery Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing