We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thorold Country House
Ranked #6 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed only one night, in transit, but Wendy and Gary made us most welcome. We were in the Willow room - its own door, very well furnished and very comfortable. Wendy helped us find a local swimming beach, their own pool not being quite ready for the season, and we had a fine dinner and chat over wine and coffee. This is really somewhere to go for several nights - Thames is an interesting town, and the area is clearly worth exploring. Wendy met us with tea and cake by the pool, though we had arrived early. Very many thanks!

Room Tip: Worth noting that as this is a B&B there isn't a kettle or fridge in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

A place to be and stay!
thank you again to our wonderful host.
we enjoyed spending 2 days in this lovely and peaceful space.
we will remember the company of sheeps too!
a large home just for you, close to your hosts which make you a very nice breakfast the morning.
at our arrival, we did appreciated tea and coffee offered, and a nice talk with wendy and Gary!
it is a very nice "souvenir". and if one day we come back to New Zeland, it is sure that we will come back to Thames to stay with them one or two days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephany8169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Thorold Country House is a great find. Just over an hour from Auckland international airport positioned in the Coromandel area of Thames, making it a great location for exploring the Coromandel peninsular.
Wendy and Gary have created a wonderful haven of tranquility and warmth. The accommodation we stayed in is a separate cottage from the main house with two bedrooms and an open plan living area, all very spacious and very clean. All rooms have double doors leading onto a private, very well maintained garden area with a pool (very welcome after a long day of flying, travelling or sight seeing). The accommodation is of a high standard and the hosts are incredibly friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful, whilst remaining professional. They both have a wealth of local knowledge which comes in useful when planning your day.
Wendy's breakfast are amazing (I go as far as to say they were the very best we had in all five weeks in NZ) and a fabulous start to any day.
I highly recommend Thorold Country House to anyone who is thinking of staying in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frumpypigskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed in Thorold Country House for two nights, and I loved it. I showed up early but was well received and welcomed. The place was quiet, green with well manicured lawn, and cottage I stayed in was very specious, clean with lots of windows and very nicely kept (and there is a pool as well!). Best of all, the hosts were wonderful; when I left, I felt like I was leaving friends. Hosts were also very knowledgable about the local area, and gave great recommendations on the places to visit and things to do. Breakfasts were delicious as well. I would definitely recommend it and give it 5 stars!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjaS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

our family of 4 had a lovely stay in Gary & Wendy's cottage. We DID swim in the nice pool, we loved feeding the sheep, the grass tennis court was a nice novelty and the location very pleasant / soporiphic (?). Its easy to pick fault with a nice home but we felt very welcome here and its a great staging post for the Coromandel or a drive down to Taupo. Comfortable lovely and clean. Good to step back in time. The owners were extremely pleasant and welcoming. Price bang in line with the other 6 places we stayed in.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were fortunate to stay our first three nights with Wendy and Gary, who really cared for us and made us feel at home! You could already tell from their email confirmation that we could expect nice hosts.

We stayed in the cottage which is spacious, clean and comfortable. Our son went into the pool very first thing when we arrived although we had 36 hours of travel in our bones. The beds are good, the kitchen is equipped with everything you need and there is a great outside barbecue.

The breakfasts - as well cooked as continental - were delicious, especially the scrambled eggs made up for a perfect start into the day.

Last not least, Wendy and Gary came up with uncounted recommendations on what to undertake on Coromandel and every single one proved to be spot on.

A perfect start of our journey!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olssons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Thorold Country House is only an easy 1.5hr drive from NZ international airport and is very welcome after a long flight from Hong Kong. The hosts Wendy and Gary were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. They are very knowledgable about the area and gave us some useful local info.
We stayed in the cottage which consists of two double rooms, each with doors leading out to a secluded garden and shared pool, and a kitchen and lounge area. The beds were very clean and comfortable and the pool was clean and very welcome.
Wendy does a great breakfast (the best we've had in two weeks of travelling round NZ). I would recommend it to friends and family upon arrival or just a nice place to stop off and have a rest in the peace and quiet of the countryside. It is off a main road but you can't hear it at all and the location is perfect for visiting the Coromandel Peninsular.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannesstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
1.7 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
162 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
124 reviews
15.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
13.2 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorold Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorold Country House

Address: 36 Ngati Maru Highway | Kopu, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: £103 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our private, peaceful country home is ideally situated on 6 acres near to Thames, Coromandel Peninsula. Luxury guest rooms (two in the self contained garden cottage, two in guest wing of main house)all open onto wide private verandas. Relax by the secluded swimming pool set in subtropical garden. Grass tennis court. Full breakfast, special diets catered for. Free Wifi. Free undercover parking. Minutes from Coromandel activities, walks, beaches, tennis, golf, forests, fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Thorold Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing