We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorold Country House
Nearby Hotels
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rolleston Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coastal Motor Lodge(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grafton Cottage and Chalets(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookby Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
32
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinteresting townlovely settingnew zealandb and bcoromandel peninsulawendyhostspoolcottagepropertytaupoaccommodationkitchen
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A place to be and stay!
thank you again to our wonderful host.
we enjoyed spending 2 days in this lovely and peaceful space.
we will remember the company of sheeps too!
a large home just for you, close to your hosts which make you a very nice breakfast the morning.
at our arrival, we did appreciated tea and coffee offered, and a nice talk with wendy and Gary!
it is a very nice "souvenir". and if one day we come back to New Zeland, it is sure that we will come back to Thames to stay with them one or two days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephany8169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Thorold Country House is a great find. Just over an hour from Auckland international airport positioned in the Coromandel area of Thames, making it a great location for exploring the Coromandel peninsular.
Wendy and Gary have created a wonderful haven of tranquility and warmth. The accommodation we stayed in is a separate cottage from the main house with two bedrooms and an open plan living area, all very spacious and very clean. All rooms have double doors leading onto a private, very well maintained garden area with a pool (very welcome after a long day of flying, travelling or sight seeing). The accommodation is of a high standard and the hosts are incredibly friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful, whilst remaining professional. They both have a wealth of local knowledge which comes in useful when planning your day.
Wendy's breakfast are amazing (I go as far as to say they were the very best we had in all five weeks in NZ) and a fabulous start to any day.
I highly recommend Thorold Country House to anyone who is thinking of staying in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frumpypigskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed in Thorold Country House for two nights, and I loved it. I showed up early but was well received and welcomed. The place was quiet, green with well manicured lawn, and cottage I stayed in was very specious, clean with lots of windows and very nicely kept (and there is a pool as well!). Best of all, the hosts were wonderful; when I left, I felt like I was leaving friends. Hosts were also very knowledgable about the local area, and gave great recommendations on the places to visit and things to do. Breakfasts were delicious as well. I would definitely recommend it and give it 5 stars!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjaS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

our family of 4 had a lovely stay in Gary & Wendy's cottage. We DID swim in the nice pool, we loved feeding the sheep, the grass tennis court was a nice novelty and the location very pleasant / soporiphic (?). Its easy to pick fault with a nice home but we felt very welcome here and its a great staging post for the Coromandel or a drive down to Taupo. Comfortable lovely and clean. Good to step back in time. The owners were extremely pleasant and welcoming. Price bang in line with the other 6 places we stayed in.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were fortunate to stay our first three nights with Wendy and Gary, who really cared for us and made us feel at home! You could already tell from their email confirmation that we could expect nice hosts.

We stayed in the cottage which is spacious, clean and comfortable. Our son went into the pool very first thing when we arrived although we had 36 hours of travel in our bones. The beds are good, the kitchen is equipped with everything you need and there is a great outside barbecue.

The breakfasts - as well cooked as continental - were delicious, especially the scrambled eggs made up for a perfect start into the day.

Last not least, Wendy and Gary came up with uncounted recommendations on what to undertake on Coromandel and every single one proved to be spot on.

A perfect start of our journey!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olssons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews