We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thorold Country House
Ranked #6 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
London
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Special, relaxing”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a lovely two-night stay with Gary and Wendy while on an extended trip of NZ. After many nights away from home, this was one of the most relaxing of our trip. Room was quiet, looking onto the swimming pool, with bougainvillea framing the porch, birds singing -- very pleasant. The welcoming tea with homemade biscuits and scones were delicious - as was the morning breakfast. Our hosts were personable, well-informed, and helpful. Thorold is well-situated for travels around the Coromondel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a lovely two night stay with Gary looking after us. The room we booked was more of an apartment with its own kitchen and living room. Gary really couldn't have been more accommodating, helping us organise trips and our next B&B etc

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Traveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have just had the pleasure of a two day stay at Thorold Country House. From the minute we arrrived we were made so welcome. We stayed in the Willow room which was very private and comfortable, best nights sleep for ever. After a relaxing and a tasty breakfast in the morning and suggestions on what to do in the local area we headed off to explore the Coromandel. After a perfect day of tramping and fish and chips by the beach we then returned home to enjoy the pool in the late afternoon. We enjoyed dinner at the local Thai Restaurant that was recommended to us by Wendy and Gary and then coffee on our return. Another great breakfast, then time to feed the sheep before we said our farewells. Am looking forward to returning in the near future to this lovely tranquil setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynette o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Our short stay in november 2012 was just amazing - Wendy and Gary are one of the best hosts within our whole trip. We were allowed to feed their lambs after breakfast - they're the cutest pets ;-) We had a very good time, tasty breakfast and thanks to the tipps of Wendy and Gary a very lovely day-trip through Coromandel. We would like to come back some time.
Greetings Kaja and Patrick

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Cairngorms, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed only one night, in transit, but Wendy and Gary made us most welcome. We were in the Willow room - its own door, very well furnished and very comfortable. Wendy helped us find a local swimming beach, their own pool not being quite ready for the season, and we had a fine dinner and chat over wine and coffee. This is really somewhere to go for several nights - Thames is an interesting town, and the area is clearly worth exploring. Wendy met us with tea and cake by the pool, though we had arrived early. Very many thanks!

Room Tip: Worth noting that as this is a B&B there isn't a kettle or fridge in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A place to be and stay!
thank you again to our wonderful host.
we enjoyed spending 2 days in this lovely and peaceful space.
we will remember the company of sheeps too!
a large home just for you, close to your hosts which make you a very nice breakfast the morning.
at our arrival, we did appreciated tea and coffee offered, and a nice talk with wendy and Gary!
it is a very nice "souvenir". and if one day we come back to New Zeland, it is sure that we will come back to Thames to stay with them one or two days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephany8169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Thorold Country House is a great find. Just over an hour from Auckland international airport positioned in the Coromandel area of Thames, making it a great location for exploring the Coromandel peninsular.
Wendy and Gary have created a wonderful haven of tranquility and warmth. The accommodation we stayed in is a separate cottage from the main house with two bedrooms and an open plan living area, all very spacious and very clean. All rooms have double doors leading onto a private, very well maintained garden area with a pool (very welcome after a long day of flying, travelling or sight seeing). The accommodation is of a high standard and the hosts are incredibly friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful, whilst remaining professional. They both have a wealth of local knowledge which comes in useful when planning your day.
Wendy's breakfast are amazing (I go as far as to say they were the very best we had in all five weeks in NZ) and a fabulous start to any day.
I highly recommend Thorold Country House to anyone who is thinking of staying in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frumpypigskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
3.8 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorold Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorold Country House

Property: Thorold Country House
Address: 36 Ngati Maru Highway | Kopu, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our private, peaceful country home is ideally situated on 6 acres near to Thames, Coromandel Peninsula. Luxury guest rooms (two in the self contained garden cottage, two in guest wing of main house)all open onto wide private verandas. Relax by the secluded swimming pool set in subtropical garden. Grass tennis court. Full breakfast, special diets catered for. Free Wifi. Free undercover parking. Minutes from Coromandel activities, walks, beaches, tennis, golf, forests, fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Thorold Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing