We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunkist Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$110
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuscany on Thames(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rolleston Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Brookby Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
30
19
9
10
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
19
9
10
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenhistoric hotelguest houseinteresting historylovely gardencontinental breakfastother guestshostelcherylloungehammockscommunaltoiletssupermarketlawnbase
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Had a great stay here, was a bit quiet in the week but came back two days later, to pure sunshine and more people staying at the weekend, it is a nice place if you want to chill, some great beaches within walking distance and shops on your doorstep, at the hostel, everyone is really friendly, rooms are really clean and comfortable, I had a four bed dorm to myself, shared shower facilities which are excellent, BBQ area, patio, hammocks, sun loungers, resident dog. Met some lovely people here, great for a couple of nights to explore the comorandel (Like having the bay of island but not having to drive so far) but you do need a car or catch the local bus. They do hire out cars as well and can arrange tours for you. Great stay!!

Room Tip: All good rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiejsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent hostel, very clean and well organised! Loved the lay out and the rooms were huge, kitchen and lounge areas were great, and free Internet for 1hour great bonus. The owner was very friendly and also travelled himself so I think it helps. Great location really, only 5-10 mins walk to shops.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

What a great find in central Thames. Great location to all that the area has on offer. Wonderful friendly staff who are only to happy to help. This packpackers is very clean, well maintaned and the team are always wanting to improve the travellers experience. The outdoor BBQ area and garden are lovely and warm in the sun and a great place to socialise. The overall experience is top notch and I would highly recommend that you stay here next time you are in Thames. Well done guys on your successful business :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northlander25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here for one night and I would definitely return. Everyone was so lovely and helpful and very accommodating. Big thumbs up! The garden is very sweet. If you're headed to Thames you should definitely consider staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGinger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at this backpacker for only one night but had a great experience. The carpet had just been changed a few days before I arrived so the hostels was very clean and nice. I slept in a 4-bed female dorm, the room was big enough, from what I remember the view from the window was far from unforgettable but that's not what I was there for anyway. The man at reception was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Toilets and showers were extremely clean and you could tell everything was very recent so it is always a bonus! Towels are for hire at reception for $2 if I recall correctly, internet is available but not in the rooms you have to go to the common room which has board games, a nice fire in the fireplace and a huge tv. You can hire a car from them and they also organize day trips. Overall a very good experience, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews