We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but unaccommodating owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place but unaccommodating owner”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hostel itself was nice, but the owner was a bitter old woman. First off, why are you charging so much for a 10 bed dorm in a little nothing town? She was very cold to my boyfriend and I, and right when I started talking to her I did not want to stay there but had no other choice as the other hostel in town was full. If you work in hospitality and you own a hostel/hotel/whatever you have to be pleasant to your guests!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daniellemariei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    8
    9
    25
See reviews for
3
28
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very cosy, spacious hostel. Kitchen very clean and big, along with dining room, plenty of space for meal preparing. Rooms were big and beds were comfy. Only a 10 minute walk from town centre and 5 minutes from Pak N Save, very handy. Owner was a bit frosty. My partner hit his head on the mantelpiece in our room and fell over. When we came downstairs, the owner said that if we wanted to behave like children and make such a noise, we should go outside. Tried to explain what happened but wasn't having any. Overall we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Building was nice and the facilities also pretty good. Even though we didn't spend time around the commom areas they looked really nice and fun.

However, even though the room was nicely made the bed wasn't that great. The worse though was our host - she was very polite, but not very accomodating at all. She didn't let us spend time having breakfast at the kitchen after the checkout time (which is common practise around NZ) and was uptight about other details around the place. This is frustrating especially considering that Sunkist is priced a few bucks above the average backpacker price. Also, the bahtrooms are open and can be hard to get some privacy.

If you're okay with this sort of things, you might like to stay there. We won't be coming back though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diogo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at Sunkist for two weeks, and it is a lovely place to spend some time at. It is located in a beautiful historical building, and about a minute walk away from the waterfront. All the rooms and facilities are really nice and well up kept. There is a nice big kitchen with free coffee, tea and spices. Outside the kitchen is a great outdoor area to eat and hangout in hammocks. The owners are very lovely and welcoming people. They are more than willing to help you out and give advice on things to do around the area. They have very good bikes for rent as well. They also provide a shuttle service to the Kauaeranga Valley to do the Pinnacles hike (highly recommended!). If you ever find yourself in Thames, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have stayed at Sunkist Lodge at least 4 times since the current owners have been running it. We have always enjoyed our stay.The hostel is always lovely and clean.
Free tea and coffee free movies good location. Beautiful old building, reasonably priced, helpful hosts. There is nothing not to like!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hostel ist a nice historical building. it is clean and has a nice garden. though I totally disadvise this spot. The owner / reception woman are both extremely unpleasant. They treat you like a criminal from the first second. They are bombing you with rules and restrictions. You really feel like a child. If you´re looking for typical NZ hospitality just skip this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thames hotels

Global
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed one night before heading off on the Hauraki Rail Trail. It was a lovely stay. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Kitchen, showers and common rooms were all well equipped. The owners were lovely and went out of their way to help us. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angi_cGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.4 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avalon Thames Motel
Avalon Thames Motel
#38 of 52 in Coromandel Peninsula
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#2 of 11 in Thames
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 13 in Thames
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Property: Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
Address: 506 Brown Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand (Formerly Sunkist International Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, Bike n Hike. Our 1860's Heritage Bed n Breakfast offers a clean and relaxing environment in our own part of the Thames Goldrush History. Catering for the established traveller looking for a relaxing place to stay. Clean and Quiet makes for a great nights sleep between your adventures. A great base for Couples or groups wanting to explore the Coromandel Peninsula and starting point for the Hauraki Rail Trail and the Kauaeranga Valley for those wanting to hike the Pinnacles. The building is an 1860s heritage kauri hotel, now restored and modernized to provide quality accommodation with many home comforts. We do not offer camping or freedom camping facilities of any kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing