We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to high expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miranda Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I'm always wary of visiting places that come highly recommended by friends and travel reviewers, not because I don't trust them, but because it's so easy to set yourself up for disappointment. In this case, however, my worries were unfounded, and the holiday park lived to our - extremely high - expectations.

Everything was pristinely clean. We enjoyed the hot pool, the tennis courts and the trampoline in the gorgeous setting of plants and greenery. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

It is fabulous to hear we have lived up to your high expectations, Thankyou for your review and we look forward to you staying in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

This holiday park is great, with very good kitchen, shower and lounge facilities and bonus a lovely little hot pool to soak in. This is free entry for campers. Nearby attractions include bird watching on the estuary and the Shorebird centre. Up the road a little are a couple of the Auckland Regional Parks and around the other side of the harbour is Thames a lovely little NZ town. Miranda holiday is a lovely little Holiday park to stay and enjoy the gems of this region.

Room Tip: We camped in our own tents, there is plenty of space available to spread out and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuttykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

This is our favorite holiday park so far on our travels round NZ's North Island. It's fairly small with great facilities: hot, powerful showers, nice toilets, a good, inexpensive laundry, clean, big kitchen / dining room and a fabulous hot pool, in which my kids (and I) spent lots of time. It also has a small playground and a trampolene.

Staff were very friendly. We can't fault it and actually stayed an extra night because we liked it so much.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to here that you all enjoyed staying here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Miranda Holiday Park is simply breathtaking. The grounds, hotpool and all buildings are in extremely tidy condition. The staff are truly delightful and so easy to deal with. I'd say "yes" if they would only adopt us and we could move in permanently.:)
The pool is so relaxing
We have a classic caravan and car and will certainly be returning.
Looking forward to being back.

Room Tip: To put it simply; "You love it"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

It's great to hear that you rate us so highly and it will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again. Thank you for your fantastic review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We are very regular weekend caravan visitors to Miranda Holiday Park. We are a couple nearing retirement and still actively involved in the workforce. Miranda is a place where we can regain our sanity in the weekends from the pressures of work. We love the unique mineral pool to wash away all our aches and pains that one gets as age catches up.
We feel it is like our Holiday Home and we are made to feel so welcome by Sasha, Russell and their staff. Nothing is every too much trouble.
We spend many fun weekends with wonderful friends that we have met and made whilst relaxing here. The facilities are great and always so clean. We have stayed at other parks and we are always so pleased to return to Miranda - to its amazing spotless facilities and welcoming staff. It sure is hard to beat.
It is also sad to see the occasional derogatory comment made - these Managers go well beyond the call of duty. We know that they have taken sick tourists to hospital in the middle of the night. They take the bests interests of the clientele very seriously. Miranda is such a well run park under the guidance of Sasha and Russell. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.
Brian and Lynn

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thanks so much for your kind words, its great to know that you feel the park is like your own holiday home. Look forward to seeing you here at your home away from home very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We have stayed 3 times now, we live in Auckland so its not too far for a nice relaxing weekend away. We have a camper van, and have found the kitchen and bathroom facilities are very clean and modern. The thermal pool is beautifully landscaped and clean and just wonderful for soaking away all our aches and pains. Have recommended it to a few people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We are happy to here that you enjoy what we have to offer here at Miranda Holiday Park. Thank you for your feedback and recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We started going to Miranda Holiday Park nearly 2 years ago as we have a caravan. We at first visited mainly on the long weekends but have since decided to leave our caravan on site and return every Friday night to enjoy this wonderful park. We have made life long friends who also have caravans and who also return back to the park every Friday night as well. This holiday park is just so special to us and our friends as with only hours drive you feel like you are in another country. Beautiful surroundings, wonderful hot pool, spotless facilities (kitchen, toilets etc) that I am sure no one could fault and 6 min free showers. We have all travelled to other camp sites and all comment that we are truly spoiled with regards to the spotless facilities at Miranda Holiday Park. To top this all off to be run by wonderul group of people like Russell and Sasha (Managers) where I see get undeserved comments. Nothing is too much trouble and they will ensure that you have a wonderful stay at Miranda Holiday Park. Once again Russell and Sasha you do such a brilliant job and you both ensure everyone does have and will remember there stay at Miranda Holiday Park keep up the good work and we look forward to your lovely smiling faces on our return.

Robert and Marama Gibbons.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Wow, thankyou so much for your lovely review. It is our pleasure to be your hosts and so wonderful to see that you have met other guests here and become life long friends. This is what makes this job so enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.7 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
19.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
145 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#6 of 11 in Thames
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 55 minutes from Auckland Airport, 25 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 Bedroom & studio motel apartments, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & camper-van sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court, volley ball court, small BMX track, Skate board track, Mini golf, Flying Fox, Children play ground & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing