We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top holiday park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miranda Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top holiday park”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Even if this park is a little isolated, to let it stop your visit. We stared in the rooms that can sleep up to five. The sleeping area themselves are small, but you have a separate living room to relax in. The thermal pools were large, scenic, clean. They have a policy of no kids in the pools after 8 which gives adults a few hours where they can enjoy them without too much yelling and splashing. Lots of other activities such a tennis, bikes, playgounds to enjoy for family. The only down was the mozzie issues that took to our son and made him look like he is suffering from chicken pox. Insect spray was at hand (a little late) but a little heads up from management would have helped.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    63
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
91
101
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2013

A magic place to stay. This is the second time we have stayed here and the staff are always friendly and willing to help out. The pool is a great hit with the kids as are the pedal trikes that can be hired. The kitchen facilities are always immaculately clean as are the laundry area. We stay in the cabins which come with a bathroom,toilet and shower. The TV is a good size which is always a bonus for the kids. We have friends that stay in the tent sites and they too can't speak highly enough of the place. We may purchase a tent for the next Xmas holidays and do the real camping thing a go.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Great apartments including fridge freezer, dishdraw, elements, tv in lounge and bedroom, washer tub and dryer, comfy beds, dining table and couches. Great pool and also worth visiting next door pool. Has fans but needed air conditioning. Also recommend spraying rooms for mozzies at night. A little expensive but we still chose to extend out booking.

Room Tip: If travelling as a group book at least one apartment to get extra facilities - others in group could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The campground is beautifully landscaped with planting separating groups of camp sites. Tent sites are large. The communal kitchen is one of the best I've even seen in any campground - large, spacious, plenty of cookers, sinks, and with large refrigerators and freezers for campers to use. The entire complex is very clean.

Camp fees include unlimited use of the single thermal pool. The pool is large but shallow. Ideal for children and family groups but a little disappointing for one who loves to soak neck-deep. The water temperature was too cool - I suspect it was little more than 32C on either of the two days I was there. The pool didn't feel as though it was rich in minerals and the water has been treated. This makes it safe for children to engage in normal swimming pool activities but was not what I was expecting from a thermal pool.

This was a lovely place to stay but don't let the thermal pool be the major reason for choosing this campground.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpidaChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked a large group staying 27th - 29th of December. The staff were all fantastic! They went out of their way to accommodate us and ensure our stay was memorable. Due to our large group they willing allowed us to change sleeping configurations and provide us with more accommodation at short notice.

The facilities are modern and kept clean throughout the whole day. The 1 bedroom chalets are surprisingly bigger than we had expected and the Lodge rooms are comfy.

We would definitelty book another stay here!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Of course it is fairly remote but that was half the fun.
Camp was clean and well organised. On a hot day the pools were too hot for our grand children. I know that is obvious but maybe cooling them for the 27 degree weather would be appropriate.
Our kids became bored quite quickly so we went to close by Kaiaua and they enjoyed that with a beaut playground.
Good fish and chips for tea and back to the camp.
The kids went for a swim and bedded down for the night.
Maybe our expectations were too high but when it is advertised in the top 5 camps in NZ we went with high expectations and paid quite a bit to stay for a night.
Have been to much better camps in NZ.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robanddianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your review.
We do lower our pool temperature over the summer period to suit most people, some want it hot some cooler, and we try to find a happy medium.
Happy to hear you all enjoyed Kaiaua, sad to hear the children got bored as we have a tennis court, recreational field, trampoline, petanque, playground, TV lounges, pool , fun trikes and mountain bikes for them to enjoy.
We do not advertise as top 5 holiday park in NZ but other sources do and we thank them for thinking so highly of Miranda Holiday Park, it’s an honour to be regarded amongst the best in NZ. Our Tariff for a site reflects the facilities we have including our hot mineral pool and is around the same cost as any other 4 plus star Qualmark rated Holiday Park in the Coromandel region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Miranda holiday park is a lovely park where you can relax in a comfortable environment. Very nicely maintained grounds and facilities. Everything you need is available. There is a small restaurant just outside the park which is linked to Miranda Springs but this stops taking orders after 7.30 in the evening. There are very large clean and modern showers and toilets together with a very large kitchen with all the facilities you would expect. Large TV lounge with soft armchairs. The thermal pool is in a lovely setting and is well maintained - half of it is covered so you get shade if you need it. Well proportioned sites. Friendly welcome and staff. Within easy reach of the Bird reserve and also under an hour drive to Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.5 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
100 reviews
18.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
143 reviews
12.5 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
12.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 13 in Thames
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Property: Miranda Holiday Park
Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 55 minutes from Auckland Airport, 25 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 Bedroom & studio motel apartments, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & camper-van sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court, volley ball court, small BMX track, Skate board track, Mini golf, Flying Fox, Children play ground & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing