We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miranda Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Nice and quiet campground. Clean facilities and a big kitchen. Hot pool is big but a bit aged but it serves its purpose. Thought that 23 NZD per person for a unpowered tentsite is a bit on pricey side given the rural location.

All in all if you are in the region and want to relax it's a good place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

The park seems well maintained, although there are lots of mosquitoes which is hardly their fault and the only pool is far too hot for summer. But we had a nice stay until the following 2 things happened...
1. My 7 yr old son was accused of stealing one of the hire bikes because he was 5 minutes late to return it.
2. We were slightly late checking out. The staff turned really nasty for the sake of 15minutes. Their short sitedness ruined what would have been a peaceful stay. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kneesupmabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thanks for your review,
We apologize for the way you felt you were treated on your stay.

MOSQUITOS are prevalent at this time of year where we are located, we do have fly spray and bug spray dispensers in all units to try to combat the little critters, some of our unit have either air con or fans so you can have windows shut so they can’t get in. As stated in our info if you are experiencing concerns please advise management immediately, tomorrow is too late. An after-hours buzzer is located at the office front door.
The Fun trikes are very popular and when it is very busy children are swarming all over for them it can be confusing to which child is which. They are for hire and children regularly take off on them.
As stated in our info check out is no later than 10am. We have 30 units of accommodation at any one time to get ready for the next guests checking in, a late check out can be arranged if required at management’s discretion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

There were lots of mosquitoes. there was a nearly finished bottle of insect spray in the room and I managed to get a few squirts out of it but we left the next morning looking like we had chicken pox. My son who is 3 got bitten over 40 times. Apart from that the grounds have good facilities and a lovely thermal pool which I enjoyed thoroughly. The bedroom of the cabin we stayed in has a very very small room and the double bed is pretty small. It was comfortable and well appointed though.

Room Tip: the rooms are all much in the same place and so any you are allocated will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FionaAyerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We love this site. It is so clean, so friendly and so well run. The kitchen is fully equipped so you don't need anything but food. Everything is always spotless no matter what time of year of day or night. They have clear systems which are well communicated.
It sits on its own so is really quiet at night but equally you can access the Coromandel very easily so gives you the best of both worlds.
This is NZ tourism at its best.......don't hesitate you'll love it!

Room Tip: Don't pack the kitchen sink you really don't need it as everything supplied cooking wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thanks for your wonderfull review.

We are so happy you like Miranda Holiday Park and that you appreciate what we strive for to make it an enjoyable experience for all our guests (just over 41000 guests last year). We look forward to you coming again. Regards from the team at Miranda Holiday Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

At first sight, Miranda seems to be a remote location from other attractions, however, it is actually a great point from which to explore the Coromandel Peninsula, and equally a good point from which to return to Auckland (via the pretty coast road) at the end of your trip.

My only 'gripe' is that the site's roads are unsurfaced (I.e. a cider or gravel surface) which I always dislike as I always track little stones back into the van.... Aside from that, the kitchen and ablution facilities are large, clean and well equipped and top notch.

My big "like" is the site's good sized thermal pool which is at a good enjoyable temperature (about 30C?) for a prolonged soak. Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Miranda Holiday Park is on the Seabird Coast just north of the Coromandel Peninsular. Stayed just one night in a campervan on a powered site. Rather an isolated place and only fairly good. Rather expensive compared with other places and the facilities were not that good. The best thing about the site was the hot mineral swimming pool which was a big hit with the children. Would not go out of my way to go there again. Visited many places in New Zealand during our month there which were much better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Even if this park is a little isolated, to let it stop your visit. We stared in the rooms that can sleep up to five. The sleeping area themselves are small, but you have a separate living room to relax in. The thermal pools were large, scenic, clean. They have a policy of no kids in the pools after 8 which gives adults a few hours where they can enjoy them without too much yelling and splashing. Lots of other activities such a tennis, bikes, playgounds to enjoy for family. The only down was the mozzie issues that took to our son and made him look like he is suffering from chicken pox. Insect spray was at hand (a little late) but a little heads up from management would have helped.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.5 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#6 of 11 in Thames
97 reviews
14.4 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
12.3 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 55 minutes from Auckland Airport, 25 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 Bedroom & studio motel apartments, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & camper-van sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court, volley ball court, small BMX track, Skate board track, Mini golf, Flying Fox, Children play ground & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing