We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot mineral pool oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miranda Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot mineral pool oasis”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here in a camper van at the beginning of our tour of the Coromandel Peninsula. We had a friendly and efficient welcome from Reception and our site was conveniently located for the amenities block without being right on top of it. The park is attractively laid out with sites not too close together and plenty of greenery for extra seclusion. The hot water mineral pool is enormous and spotlessly clean with areas to store your towel and clothes. Facilities were very clean and well maintained and there was plenty of hot water in the showers (enough showers and hand basins that queuing was not necessary). Spent a very peaceful night with no disturbance from other campers. Would definitely return here and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panicdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    61
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
86
98
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
utrecht
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

we arrived tired, but the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was nice and cosy and very clean and as a treat they had this y thermal bath. we only stayed one night on our way to coromandel, but we could have stayed easily longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After a long drive, it was lovely to get into a hot pool to relax. Four of us shared a two bedroom cottage. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the place. The beds were firm and even though my husband and I shared the 'other' room, he enjoyed the three quarter sized bunk bed, while I had a comfy sleep in another bottom bunk. We all appreciated the full force of water coming out of the shower nozzle.
A shame that when we booked we were told the office closed at 8pm sharp. For such an establishment perhaps on call staff would work better. Also, the over the top mark up on the few groceries available in the office shop meant they lost our desire of purchasing anything.
We were warned of the mozzies, but lucky us, didn't encounter any on our stay!

Room Tip: Not so much about a good room as our little cottage was great, but bring your own food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benhan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Nice and quiet campground. Clean facilities and a big kitchen. Hot pool is big but a bit aged but it serves its purpose. Thought that 23 NZD per person for a unpowered tentsite is a bit on pricey side given the rural location.

All in all if you are in the region and want to relax it's a good place to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The park seems well maintained, although there are lots of mosquitoes which is hardly their fault and the only pool is far too hot for summer. But we had a nice stay until the following 2 things happened...
1. My 7 yr old son was accused of stealing one of the hire bikes because he was 5 minutes late to return it.
2. We were slightly late checking out. The staff turned really nasty for the sake of 15minutes. Their short sitedness ruined what would have been a peaceful stay. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kneesupmabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thanks for your review,
We apologize for the way you felt you were treated on your stay.

MOSQUITOS are prevalent at this time of year where we are located, we do have fly spray and bug spray dispensers in all units to try to combat the little critters, some of our unit have either air con or fans so you can have windows shut so they can’t get in. As stated in our info if you are experiencing concerns please advise management immediately, tomorrow is too late. An after-hours buzzer is located at the office front door.
The Fun trikes are very popular and when it is very busy children are swarming all over for them it can be confusing to which child is which. They are for hire and children regularly take off on them.
As stated in our info check out is no later than 10am. We have 30 units of accommodation at any one time to get ready for the next guests checking in, a late check out can be arranged if required at management’s discretion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

There were lots of mosquitoes. there was a nearly finished bottle of insect spray in the room and I managed to get a few squirts out of it but we left the next morning looking like we had chicken pox. My son who is 3 got bitten over 40 times. Apart from that the grounds have good facilities and a lovely thermal pool which I enjoyed thoroughly. The bedroom of the cabin we stayed in has a very very small room and the double bed is pretty small. It was comfortable and well appointed though.

Room Tip: the rooms are all much in the same place and so any you are allocated will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaAyerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We love this site. It is so clean, so friendly and so well run. The kitchen is fully equipped so you don't need anything but food. Everything is always spotless no matter what time of year of day or night. They have clear systems which are well communicated.
It sits on its own so is really quiet at night but equally you can access the Coromandel very easily so gives you the best of both worlds.
This is NZ tourism at its best.......don't hesitate you'll love it!

Room Tip: Don't pack the kitchen sink you really don't need it as everything supplied cooking wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thanks for your wonderfull review.

We are so happy you like Miranda Holiday Park and that you appreciate what we strive for to make it an enjoyable experience for all our guests (just over 41000 guests last year). We look forward to you coming again. Regards from the team at Miranda Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
12.5 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.1 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#2 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#5 of 11 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
13.1 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
18.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Property: Miranda Holiday Park
Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 55 minutes from Auckland Airport, 25 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 Bedroom & studio motel apartments, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & camper-van sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court, volley ball court, small BMX track & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing