We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miranda Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Returning customers, great service, excellent facilities.

Has a nice natural pool, we appreciate the 'adults only' hours with minimal noise and splashing.

GREAT kitchen, with use of pots and pans, everything is there. Makes staying easy!

Great showers, very clean place. Love it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 888Coco2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We are regulars at Miranda Holiday park and always enjoy our stay. As a family with two children aged 10 and 12 years old we find it a safe environment with plenty of activities to keep everyone happy. We always take our van and use a powered site situated between the pool and the amenities block. During this stay it was peak holiday season and the facilities handled the numbers of guests well. The park is well planned , clean and tidy. We used the covered outdoor dinning area during this stay, which was very pleasant due to the warm weather.
Always find the staff helpful and keen to please.
As regular users of hot pools around New Zealand we find the thermal pool here very good. The design and landscaping create a lovely atmosphere.
The shop is well stocked with basic food needs.
Miranda Holiday park is close to so many attractions; Kaiaua, Thames, Paeroa etc. Boat trips, walks, shopping, markets (Kaiaua and Thames) and safe beaches.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We only stayed here for 2 nights for a 'weekend getaway' with our caravan; being pet friendly, we brought our dog with us however when we got there we discovered our RCA in the caravan was different to the newer ones installed now, the staff were super friendly though and let us into the campground even though we had not booked a 'inside' where pets are not to go site. My husband drove back to the Bombays with our dog to drop her off at a relatives.
Other than that hick-up, we found the campground very clean and tidy, and the pool was beautiful to relax in with the kids!
Will definitely be coming back again for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in one of the apartments (the most expensive option but well worth it) very spacious accommodation with everything you would need including washer and dryer in the room. Hosts were great to deal with and the hot pool is awesome we would use it 2 - 3 times per day. The whole site is very tidy and well presented. I also highly recommend the on site massage therapist karma water (check them out on Facebook too)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank circe391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped on a powered site for one night. The amenities were very nice, powerful shower and very clean. The sites were okay but the place had no atmosphere. It seemed very clinical and prissy, whereby we prefer rustic and quirky. The staff weren't very welcoming as my husband dared to ask if we could choose our own site and although they agreed, they were pretty grumpy about it. Not sure why, as we've travelled Perth to Perth in Australia, over 400 holiday parks and most of NZ with absolutely no previous problems being allowed to choose ourselves. It would appear from other comments and our own experience, that as long as you tow the line the staff are okay but they can't seem to deal with anything off their schedule without becoming grumpy! Maybe some customer service training is in order!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have stayed many many times and love the place ! Love soaking in the pool in the evening. In the past we have stayed in one of the apartments, one other time a chalet, in our camper using an unpowered site and this time decided to try a studio . We hardly got any sleep as the bed in the studio was extremely hard. My husband likes a hard bed but said it would be the hardest bed he has ever slept on. Studio is both clean and well set out. We will stay again but never again in one of the studios. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We only stayed here for one night on a powered site. The reception staff are friendly and helpful, even providing a needle and cotton for sewing a button on my husbands trousers! The grounds are well maintained and spacious. The pool looked wonderful but we weren't there long enough to try it. The laundry was the cheapest so far on our trip, $2 to wash-30mins, $2 to dry-45mins. The kitchen and eating areas were so clean you could think that you were at home. All in all, an excellent park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.7 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
19.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
12.3 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
145 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#6 of 11 in Thames
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 55 minutes from Auckland Airport, 25 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 Bedroom & studio motel apartments, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & camper-van sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court, volley ball court, small BMX track, Skate board track, Mini golf, Flying Fox, Children play ground & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing