We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miranda Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Being parents of four young children can be challenging in terms of finding somewhere perfect for a relaxing holiday. Miranda Holiday Park more than met all our needs. We were able to relax and catch up on much needed sleep. The beds and bedding were very comfortable!! The kids had so much fun and never complained of being bored. Aside from a short trip to a nearby town for some groceries, there was no real need to leave the park during the four days we stayed. The friendly staff made us feel very welcome and all facilities were exceptional!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amber83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

There may be nothing around Miranda within walking distance, but you don't need to leave the grounds to have a great time. The amenities are spotless and well maintained. There was always someone around to help you if you required. Can't wait to go back in winter and spend a winter night in their amazing pool.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pleasure_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

With holiday parks you expect most things to geared up for campervans and caravans and this was no exception. We were in a car, and so getting fed posed a problem. We had their first ever packaged breakfast and it was superior to others we had had on our travels. The problem comes at night when the only source of food it from the swimming park/baths next door. The entrance (with discount) is $NZ10 and the food fat laden deep fried/microwaved stuff. That is not the Holiday Park's fault though I think they should examine their stock policy in their shop to cater for guests in their cars. The cooking facilities in the chalets were more than adequate, the problem was there was nothing to cook except eggs. Complaint over, the restis better. The hot pool is wonderful and very relaxing. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy, the bathroom was well appointed. I suspect this is a place to stay for one night only, as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The layout of this park seems well thought through, with lots of separated and almost private sections. Facilities are generous and well maintained. Free access to the nicely designed hot pool is a bonus, especially on cooler days. The staff went well beyond what could reasonably have been expected helping out a traveller in a spot of bother. Thanks again guys, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wow38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Having two children under five, I have to choose carefully where I stay. Reason would be, safety, leisure, facilties and services.
I found that my children always had something to do, whether it was the playground, the hot pools or the fact that we were only minutes away from the beach.
The accomodation was excellent and very modern, with the facilities I needed, such as private washing machine and dryer.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with my busy children and would recommend to other families and couples.
The hot pool was stunning. It has a lagoon feel about it and at night its very romantic.
I look forward to my next stay and frankly, I can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank star-traveller-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A friend and I took our 5 kids (between us) to Miranda Holiday Park and our first impressions were that they were friendly, accommodating and very organised. They organised bedding for us promptly and went out of their way to be helpful. There was a lady on reception (Sacha??) who was our first point of contact and she was great. We stayed in the dormitory accommodation. The rooms were warm but basic and all we needed. The facilities were great. The kitchen lacked cutlery but we had been told to bring some due to theft. There was a trampoline, petanque area, playground, go carts and of course the fabulous hot pool which had a kind of barrier around the little kids area which was great. It was beautifully landscaped and clean. The whole place was immaculately clean. For a reasonably priced winter getaway with small children, this place is perfect and easy. Recommend you bring 2 pairs of togs and towels in winter. All in all, this place is great value for money. (PS and they sell wine in the shop!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duchy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The staff were very helpful & friendly, nothing was to much trouble!
Our Motel room was wonderful, plenty of room with everything you needed on hand.
We wanted a winter soak & being right next door to the Hot Springs was just great.
All in all a lovely week-end had by us all, young & old.

Dianne
dianne@bartonmcgill.co.nz

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneWaitakere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2010

Hi,
Thankyou for your comments and it is great to here you all had such an enjoyable time at miranda.
Hope to see you again soon for some R and R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.5 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
18.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
145 reviews
12.7 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
12.2 mi away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#6 of 11 in Thames
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 55 minutes from Auckland Airport, 25 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 Bedroom & studio motel apartments, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & camper-van sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court, volley ball court, small BMX track, Skate board track, Mini golf, Flying Fox, Children play ground & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing