We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with great view over Firth of Thames”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable with great view over Firth of Thames”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in a studio unit, which was clean and comfortable with the usual facilities, and the other members of our family stayed in the three bedroom unit, both on the beachfront. The living/kitchen area of the three bedroom unit was quite large, with a full size fridge and oven in the kitchen, with the usual facilities expected in this type of unit. The motel is about five minutes north of Thames, the setting is very relaxing, with balconies on both units, although we moved the table and chairs onto the grass and under the shade of the tree. Certainly value for money, and the setting makes it even better.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a beachfront unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Sunset Motel is on the sea front in Tararu, it is the only motel in Thames with direct beach access and wonderful views over towards Auckland. My husband and I stayed here for 12 nights while on holiday from the U.K, we chose the Sunset Motel for it's wonderful location and value for money. The rooms are very spacious with the bedrooms separate from the living area, the kitchen was very well stocked with cooking facilities, there are also outdoor barbeques for the guests to use as well which means that it is possible to do your own catering. Our unit was of a very high standard with an excellent shower, the unit was very clean, the rooms are cleaned everyday and you are given fresh towels and anything else you might need. The Motel is perfect for families as the grounds are large with plenty of room for children to play outside safely . Our hosts Diane and Chris looked after us really well and nothing was too much trouble for them, they are both very welcoming and friendly and really helped to make our stay enjoyable. We would really recommend staying here and will stay again on our next trip, well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ask your hosts for their recommendation. All rooms in very good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My partner and I (plus several other family members at different times) stayed for a week in Garden Unit 5 over the Christmas period.

From my first contact when booking the motel, and right throughout our stay, the service from staff was outstanding. The most amazing instances of this were: - being allowed to shift the furniture to suit our needs: arriving back at the motel on Christmas afternoon to find a gift box that included a home baked (by the manager) Christmas cake, Christmas crackers and sweet and savoury snacks; having my laundry done for me and returned to the Unit ironed and folded! (as I wasn't able to do it before we left for the day because the laundry wasn't available until after 10am to avoid disturbing other guests); the manager sharing fresh plums with us that she had been given by a friend. Wow!

The unit had recently been partially refurbished (with an up-to-date bathroom) and was clean and tidy. The bedrooms are small and the kitchen does need some attention, in particular the contents of the kitchen (crockery, utensils, pots etc). However, it was good to have a full sized oven and fridge when 4 people were staying for a week. And the bedroom/kitchen issues were minor issues really.

There were BBQ's available in the garden area just outside our door and this was a nice place to sit to read, or have a drink in the late afternoon/evening.

The setting of the motel is lovely - right next to the beach, and the sunsets are beautiful.

We would definitely be happy to stay at the Sunset Motel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very friendly, clean and tidy studio. Lovely setting understand why its called the Sunset motel. Handy for Thames and Coramandel peninsular. Thames has plenty of nice eating places. Visitors should visit Miranda which is located on the estuary opposite Thames lovely natural hot spa pool resort, went on a weekday empty.
Only downside was cooking facilities limited, but we got by. Would visit again if I was staying in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the beach, limited availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merv3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Its not ritzy, but there was a warm welcome and it is a very peaceful spot with a lovely garden outlook towards the sea. Cleanliness was good. Perfect for a one night stay and just a couple of minutes drive to the centre of Thames.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rawhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in refurbished cabin number 1 for 3 nights - it was clean and tidy, had new furnishings and a decent shower area. The staff were friendly and helpful and supplied ginger biscuits, as well as tea and coffee on our arrival. The setting of the Sunset Motel, on the Tararu Beach Reserve, was just out of this world. Can't recommend this place highly enough but don't forget that this is a Motel, not a Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if cabin 1 is available, as other cabins may not be refurbished yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stoneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great spot, with great views, even though it was raining. We played in the grass area with our child and immediately realised that the great thing about this place was that you didn't have to cross the main road to get to the beach. I am not sure but I think this is the only place in Thames to offer that.

Andrea was very helpful and my son loved the biscuits she left out for us.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom room which had clearly had some work done on it at some point, but perhaps needs a little more. The sofa had multiple rips in it.
The third bedroom is quite small, our 3 year old loved it, but if you've got a teenager it might not be so welcoming. There was undercover parking. The bathroom had a bath in it, and the shower was amazing.

Compared to the rest of our holiday the rate seemed a tad high. Some of that might be because our room was a seafront one and I was happy to pay a premium for that. Perhaps Thames is slight more expensive generally but I thought it could have been $15-20 less.

As other reviewers have said it's a few klms from town but that makes for a more tranquil stay.

We stayed in winter, so things are probably tainted. In summer I think the negatives would be overlooked by the location.

Room Tip: Get a room with the seafront view, worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
3.0 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
97 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
243 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#5 of 11 in Thames
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 1017 Tararu Road, Thames, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing