We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed with Pauline and Dennis in February, 2012, for two nights on a whirlwind trip to New Zealand. We couldn't have felt more welcomed or treated better anywhere. The food was first rate with plenty of variety. Rooms are immaculate, views wonderful, town nearby and very interesting. A wonderful place to stay if you want to explore the Coromandal Peninsula or just stay around the local area. Pauline and Dennis gave us great advice on places to eat and things to do and places to go. We couldn't fault anything about our stay.

Thank you Pauline and Dennis for a wonderful and memorable visit to Thames.
Kay and Bob, Gold Coast, Australia

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Managed to get my husband off the phone and away for a no kids weekend. We were able to stay in the cottage which suited us perfectly as it was our 25th wedding anniversary.

I could not have picked a better place to stay - friendly, comfortable, well appointed and beautifully set out. The place was very modern and super clean!!

We had a great time mountain biking around Thames, hiking up the Billy Goat Track, visiting the Thames market.

We would not hesitate to come back. Excellent experience.

Dave and Karen

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

we only spent one night but had a lovely time with Pauline and Dennis who were the perfect hosts. Enjoyed meeting other guest staying there and sharing our experiences of travelling in NZ which we loved. Great breakfast.It was a great experience for our daughter to stay in someones home rather than a hotel. I need to get Pauline's yummy cookie recipe!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Easy to find as it is signposted from the main road! Pauline and Dennis are friendly hosts and when we arrived in the evening we were welcomed with wine and cheese on the deck overlooking Thames, absolutely incredible views. Immaculate room and beautiful presentation throughout, the ensuite was sparkling (and I am a bit of a clean freak in bathrooms). Pauline cooked amazing breakfasts and catered to the individual needs of the guests. They have lots of helpful advice for the area and local restaurants. This place is worth the price they just added so many little extras with no extra charge, you wont beat it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed in the cottage for 5 nights and were very pleased with the size, layout and warm feel to it. The fire place was a special bonus! The breakfast is exceptional and so is the service. The view from the verandah is beautiful overlooking the entire town.

Pauline and Dennis are great hosts and make you feel most welcome. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent almost one week at the Chatré Manor and we really enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and lovely decorated. Breakfast was really delicious and various. From the first day we were amazed of the great view from the veranda. We also enjoyed swimming in the pool. Pauline and Dennis are fantastic hosts and we felt like being a part of the family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We loved our stay at Chartre Manor in Thames NZ. Not only was the accommodation fantastic but the hosts Pauline and Dennis were really lovely. We arrived late and they asked us to join them for dinner and a bottle of wine rather than us having to go out and find a place to eat. Their knowledge of the area was great and they have the most beautiful views from the house. Pauline is a great cook and breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donandcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
6.3 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thorold Country House
Thorold Country House
#4 of 13 in Thames
45 reviews
13.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
207 reviews
13.3 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 306 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: £101 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere special to base yourself whilst exploring the Coromandel. One night is not enough. 3 spacious rooms, s/c romantic cottage and conference venue with specialized catering for small meetings. Delicious complimentary breakfast included with accommodation. In-house beauty treatments. Eco-friendly environment with free range eggs, fruit trees and homegrown vegetables. Tudor style architecture. Magnificent sunsets, panoramic views and rural outlook from the highest point. Private, peaceful, relaxing setting. Enticing and secluded pool. Free broadband and wireless, library in guest lounge. Laundry facilities inclusive. Pauline and Dennis are welcoming hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing