We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Julian & Barbara, Durham UK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Julian & Barbara, Durham UK.”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Lovely accommodation with a superb view out over the Firth of Thames from a hill-top position. Pauline was a most friendly and helpful hostess who went out of her way to ensure that we made the best of our time on the Coromandel peninsula. We remember her excellent breakfasts especially for the fruit salads and home-made yoghourts, and the enjoyable chats that we had together.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst touring the north island. This a very classy B&B with very warm and welcoming hosts. The accommodation is first class with the cottage that we occupied at the rear of the main building being very private. The location makes it an ideal place to circle the Coromandel. Even if you didn't want to go far, the house is well situated and enjoys great views of the surrounding area. Pauline and Dennis are excellent hosts, makng your stay a special one. We were even offered an evening 'digestif' Baileys along with the hosts. They never tired of our endless chattering!! If there is anything I feel could be added, it would be an extension of the Wifi so that it can be accessed from the cottage without having to go to the main house. Pauline works very hard at her business to ensure that you are well catered for. Dave and Lyn France/UK

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed two night. Very convenient for the Coromandel peninsula. A warm welcome from the hosts. It has a commanding position with views out over the river / estuary. Bedroom is a reasonable size as is the bathroom but they are a little bare and slightly dark. Lounge is OK. However the deck is very good. Did not try the pool but it looked good. Breakfast was excellent. The hosts are very good at getting guests talking and are very helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Charter Manor was one of the few "places with a soul" we stayed at during our 3 months trip around Thailand, Australia, New Zealand and Hawai'i. The property is ideally located for spectacular hikes and Pauline will explain in much detail all you need to know about the tracks, since she is an expert in this area. Pauline and Dennis made us feel so much at home, that we felt really sorry when it was time to leave. Pauline's delicious freshly bakes cakes and cookies were a delight, and so was the generous breakfast with plenty of fruit and home made goodies. We very much enjoyed our evening discussions over a glass of wine, admiring the sunset from their beautiful deck. Pauline and Dennis manage to create a very special atmosphere in their home, that makes it so natural for people to come together.
Our room - the David John Super King room was very spacious and had a superb view over the bay, you could enjoy even from the bed. Everything was impeccably clean. We highly appreciated the help with the laundry, quite essential if you are travelling for a longer time.
We highly recommend Chartre Manor.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aotearoa_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Took the kids away with us this time. Pauline and Denise were again very welcoming and friendly. The kids loved the pool. Dave just loves the view from the house, watching the sun dipping into the sea with a glass of beer in hand.

Lots to do in Thames - Saturday markets, gold panning. train rides, swimming, fishing and rail trail if you are into mountain biking.

The Charte Manor is a great central location to all of this - well worth a visit

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottege
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. After landing in Auckland a fairly easy drive down to Thames. Arrived late but no problem- warm welcome, cup of tea and comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. Get Pauline's recipe for her scones.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoderickBoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Researching a B&B on the internet does not always prepare you for what this accomodation is really like. I must admit I am used to B&B's where you are shown your room and left to your own devices. I was expecting to have a nice room with nice views on top a hill some where. Thats not how Pauline and Dennis are, we were greeted with a warm welcome, and made comfortable with a cup of tea and some cake. Our room had great views of Thames, the bay, and mountains in the distance. Though high up we were very close to town.The atsmophere is so inviting that if we had not been on a mission to see some of the area i'm sure we would have settled down with a book and spent the day reading. We felf pretty special. Pauline made us feel like family, and made sure we had the "good oil" on the local area. Thakyou Pauline and Dennis for a great 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
18.6 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 306 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere special to base yourself whilst exploring the Coromandel. One night is not enough. 3 spacious rooms, s/c romantic cottage and conference venue with specialized catering for small meetings. Delicious complimentary breakfast included with accommodation. In-house beauty treatments. Eco-friendly environment with free range eggs, fruit trees and homegrown vegetables. Tudor style architecture. Magnificent sunsets, panoramic views and rural outlook from the highest point. Private, peaceful, relaxing setting. Enticing and secluded pool. Free broadband and wireless, library in guest lounge. Laundry facilities inclusive. Pauline and Dennis are welcoming hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing