We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Junction Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Thames
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Avalon Thames Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Seaspray Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
22
38
18
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
38
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvaried menurestaurant downstairssized mealsbudget hotelplace is cleangastro pubthe main streetplace to eatnight stayroom was cleanmusselsrecommend this placerail trailgreat accommodationgood sizethe kitchenensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The Junction is an old hotel with old facilities.

If you're after a solid, budget priced hotel with great old fashioned service, then book in today.

Their restaurant is wonderful with a comprehensive menu (the mussels are amazing) at great prices, served up by very friendly and easy going staff.

The real gem of the Hotel was Dave in the bar - a great old fashioned barman.

Very basic rooms with the usual problems of old places - hot water takes a while to arrive, old beds creak and the walls are a bit thin.

It's a basic old hotel at a cheap rate (bit above backpackers) - it doesn't pretend to be anything else.

I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We chose this hotel because of its historic nature, reviews on Tripadvisor, its own website and a phone call to the owners. Much work is being done to bring it up to modern standard but sadly it still has a long way to go. The ambience and the food in the restaurant is great, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired and are of 'backpacker' standard, suffering from dated décor, furniture & fittings, no TV, kettle or fridge and the tiniest shower/WC. The 'Guest Lounge' was dingy and uninviting. I realise the owners are working hard to upgrade the hotel and I hope they are successful but at the moment, despite its fine location, it is not a hotel we would stay at for more than one night.. Other local hotels/motels offer better value for money

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freespirit1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

old hotel, but they were renovating when we stayed. very reasonable price. small clean rooms. a common kitchen and lounge were available for use.free wifi. friendly and very accommodating hosts. very good location. easy to find and close to everything.

our one gripe was the bed was a bit shaky and hence the 3 stars for sleep quality. other than that, was a great stay. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soakuptheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Hotel wooden framed building dating from 1868 (Coromandel Gold Rush) and Thames still has the feel of a Wild West town. Had 2 night stay in twin bedded room at very good rate (low season). Decent sized room in minimalistic decor but none the worse for that - you can live from suitcase (no fitted wardrobes, chairs etc - perhaps other rooms different). Beds very comfortable. Plug in electric heater - with cut off when room comfortably warm. Effective separate wet room for shower/WC facility. No TV in room but nearby residents lounge with wide screen TV and free tea, coffee and milk. Separate fridge and cooking facilities available. Staff (2) very friendly. Downstairs bar recently opened and town cinema next door.

Hotel on main street with many cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. Many reminders of town's mining history still remain - museums, tours of gold mine and stamping battery, narrow gauge railway etc. Care needed on drive north to Coromandel town and some west/east roads still unsealed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Totally amazing hosts! Jenny and Brent went out of their way to make everything just right. We arrived at 3am (due to hold-ups on the way) but we were greeted at the door and shown to our accommodation straight away, without any hassles.
The room was very well presented, very clean and crisp. Wonderful shower!
Hotel is situated in a great place, very handy for shopping and Saturday market.
We will definitely be returning to stay again, and have recommended The Junction Hotel to everyone we know.
Look forward to seeing you again Jenny and Brent....keep up the great work! Cheerrs, Tracy :-)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews