We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience I ever had in staying in any hotels!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Junction Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Junction Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
1 review
“Terrible experience I ever had in staying in any hotels!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

The general manager went out for a walk in the busy weekend. And leaved no one in the reception, and then a staff from the bar come up and help to the booking and check in and telling me that's a private toilet room. And cost 95NZ and later on in the website it was billed cheaper. Feeling like a wipe off here. And then when I entered in the room and find that's no toilet, and the GM was back and refuse to change room for me and if I want leave they charge me 50%, and they blame on the client misunderstanding and not there staff provide the wrong information. However, even if you want to change to a smaller room which should be 40NZ, they will not refund you the extra you pay and will also charge you for another 40!! The GM's attitude is so terrible that not even listening to the client's compliant and blame it on the client. It's so terrible that not consider the client is from oversea and a single girl that's not feeling secure with a public toilet and shower and unisex one!!!
It's the most terrible experience I ever had in the hospitality business and I will not recommend to any friends or relatives to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJKunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
33
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

The stay was fine here, the room was decent and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Downstairs had great food and drinks. The only down side to staying here, is that there is not a lot to do in Thames. Apart from this it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We'd been camping for a week and craved a mattress so we enquired at the Junction which is more of a backpackers than a hotel. We were given the only family room available which slept five (we were three) and was a very reasonable price, the room had a TV and dinner table too. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was fantastic. Kitchen and bathroom facilities are shared which was novel (for us) and our little girl loved it. The building is 144 years old which is really old for NZ and the slightly sloping hallway adds to it's charm. We ordered a continental breakfast for two and said we would share with the child. The lovely and very friendly hotel manager turned up with three portions of each item free of charge which was awesome. It's not flash but we loved the Junctions' quirky charms and if we're ever in Thames we'll stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollo2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

The diner is new, we gather. It's definitely worth stopping by to enjoy. Chef knows how to cook, service is cheerful and efficient - the steaks were done perfectly and all the dishes were tasty and well-proportioned. As a diner, it's informal and a bit noisy, but there again that's the charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here during the RWC2011.Nice and cheap.Had a good sleep and a shower.

Didn't need anything more.People were friendly and restaurant great.
Depends what you want.If you want flash prob not your scene but if travelling round with a budget its perfect.

I'm going back in Aug2012

Room Tip: Get one with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Outstandingly clean, terrific value and super-friendly staff! This was our second stay & last time we slept in a road-side room which I have to say is quieter & therefore made for a much better night's sleep. What I assume is a cool-room out the back of the restaurant goes on and off all night & makes any room nearby an inferior choice. However, the extremely comfortable beds, the funky bright retro style, the excellent food downstairs and a very friendly relaxed atmosphere mean we will definitely be back time & time again! Highly recommended - just choose your room wisely & remember there are room types & combos that fit anyone! Just get in early as some weekends it is very (& deservingly!) popular! A great base to explore the quaint town of Thames from.

Room Tip: Road-side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This might be a good option for people travelling in a pack, we got a room up to a max of 4 people for only 90 bucks but the bargain stopped there. You'll need to share a kitchen (the room doesn't even have tea/coffee facilities) and TV though you can choose to rent one for $10. The whole place felt dirty and was noisy - in fact the room we had which overlooked a roof grate had a window which rattled half the night, the only way to stop it was to lean something up against it (which would stop it intermittently). Needless to say, drove us all mad.

It was also boiling hot in the room and with a lack of airflow and no a/c. Bathroom was outdated but did have a bath which would be nice in the winter. The hotel is above a pub which I've heard has good food though I didn't eat there myself, it's also in a good location in the town - I'd say for the competition around NZ for the tourist dollar you could probably do a lot better for your money, have a shop around if possible. I've done a lot better for cheaper around the Northland.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
22.6 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#7 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
19.2 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#4 of 10 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers
On the Beach Backpackers
#8 of 24 in Whitianga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
1.5 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Junction Hotel

Property: The Junction Hotel
Address: 700 Pollen Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a historic hotel located in the heart of downtown Thames. Just two blocks from the water and easily accessible to many restaurants and local attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing