We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dickson Holiday Park
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers in paradise”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Beautiful site, on a stream, among trees. Slightly tired buildings and some impressively old and tatty 1960s caravans, presumably privately owned and not for hire. Well worth a visit if only for the amusingly wordy rules and regs, as well as the many and various notices posted all over. These refer often to customers as idiots - driving in the park, diving in the pool, posting the wrong sort of rubbish in the wrong sort of bin, generally cluttering up the place and deliberately annoying the owner. All thoroughly amusing, but mainly on reflection - having only read the hysterical diatribe in the wonderfully overwritten rules on the road after leaving the site. It didn't take anything away from the experience, but if we had read the rules beforehand, it would have been tempting to have broken a few, just to see how close to Fawlty the management would have turned out to be. Not an overly hospitable set up but good value, and even better value if caught playing table football after dusk or not supervising the kids away from the kitchen, or generally standing out from the crowd. Highly recommended. Especially for those needing control over daily functions. Better for cleaner, less smelly loos, but I guess this was down to unruly pesky guests. Or idiots, as guests seem to be regarded here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    30
    14
    7
    17
See reviews for
25
38
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Location great, facilities good (didn't check out the butterfly and orchid area). Proper litte sun trap! Owner friendly. Downside - the various publications that you pick up for free all over NZ touted this site as having free wifi which it didn't. Not only that the printed up leaflets (from the camp office) stated it was broken and thus you can't use it but surely that should only be a temporary thing and not something you get to print up in camp instructions! Come to that there were a lot of rules and regulations on an A4 sheet we were given and all over the facilities. Good point - leaflet recycling zone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a quiet Holiday Park which is located North of Thames next to a small river. It is clean and contains all you desire (swimming pool, game room, book exchange, reading room, BBQ area, pizza oven, kitchen). Another plus is that the hot water of the shower is included in the price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Geoff has a very good knowledge of the area and likes to share it with you if ask. The lovely butterfly house is next door and a nice bushwalk starts at the entrance of the Holiday Park. It is a good place to stay and relax

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here last year in December and the boss helped us so much, because we had a little car accident during the day and something on the car was broken! It is a very nice place in Coromandel with a nice kitchen, clean facilities and the awesome Butterfly House :) Thank you again so much for your help!!!!! :)

Room Tip: Camp site is great, with lovely ducks :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our first visit to Dickson Holiday Park and we stayed in one of the cabins for 2 nights. I must say we were impressed...the cabin was clean, tidy and had everything you could possibly think of. The range of facilities such as a swimming pool, mini golf, playground, fish filleting bench, walks (just to name a few) are great. Such a beautiful, peaceful spot to stay. A credit to Geoff and his team who were friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks!
The fish cleaning facility is getting LOTS of use recently. Pleased you had a nice stay and thanks for the great comments
Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

O.K. some of the facilities may need a little upgrade, but fewTop-10 sites have such a range of facilities - tennis/ table tennis/ swimming pool etc. The location was pretty much idyllic with a stream and flora. Every facility that you need was available. A superb walk directly from the camp site and the host, Geoff went out of his way to make our stay a pleasant one, enabling us to hire bikes and cycle 50 Km of the new rail trail cycle route.
The camp code of quiet from 22.30 and concern for other site users washanded out with other very useful information on arrival on site. Therefore if visitors want to celebrate New Year then maybe they should have gone elsewhere to celebrate.
We think that only the anti-social would have a problem with Geoff's concern for the well-being for the majority of his customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you...Glad you enjoyed your stay. The cycle trail is fun, and we try to get lots of people out to enjoy it.
Thanks
Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This small holiday park appears to have seen better days.

There's a butterfly enclosure on site and the location, in a small valley in the mountains behind Thames, is lovely. Ripe plums on the trees. The makings of a positive experience...

Things don't seem to be going so well for this park.

Lots of small on-site caravans presumably to provide budget accomodation, most empty and in a state of disrepair.

The facilities dank and full of cobwebs.

We suspect that (judging by another recent review) this park's greatest current liability is a particular front desk staff member, who's personality is not well suited to the hospitality/tourist trade.

Probably a park best to avoid if you can.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4AusTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thames hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
3.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
12.2 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickson Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickson Holiday Park

Property: Dickson Holiday Park
Address: 115 Victoria Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dickson Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing