We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, run down, and attitude to boot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dickson Holiday Park
washington, dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“overpriced, run down, and attitude to boot”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We agree with the last review, having stayed one night after hiking in the area. It's a run down, older place with shabby common spaces and an unheated "lounge" consisting of an old TV, broken furniture, and sheet of plywood serving as a ping pong table... For $39, I expect a little more than fraternity a house quality kitchen and common space, and less attitude from management. Also, the internet only works near the reception area and "free" means one hour.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi,
Sorry you weren't happy with your stay. I must point out a couple of things...
WiFi provided free for one hour, but unlimited access available from provided computer. The simple fact is that longer free WiFi access was so abused that first people on denied access to others, or the whole system ground to a halt....everything still has to run through just one telephone wire and it is greedy people that forced us to limit access! Our park may be old, but we are proud of cleanliness. Our TV lounge is heated, though games room next door is not. And if something is broken, we wish people would let us know immediately so it can be fixed!
But, thanks for reviewing ...couch now repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    30
    14
    7
    17
See reviews for
25
38
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here after a few days tramping around the area. The add online sounded grate with wifi, hot showers, laundry and a butterfly house! When we arrived I payed 39 dollers to pitch a tent for the night!? There was no wifi for a start but I thought at least the showers laundry and butterfly house would make up for it. I found latter it was 6 dollers extra to use the laundry and in the ladies bathroom a sign proclaimed that you would be charged 1 doller for every minute you spend in the shower after 6 mins. In the rule book it stated that quite must be at 10pm and absolute silence by 10.30pm! I dont quite know what they mean by that. On top of the excessive pricing and a big brother style management front staff seemed uninterested and quite rude. In the morning we thought we would have a quick look at the butterfly house before we left.. turns out that was an extra 12 dollers each.. I would advise against staying here unless you have no other option.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank F929KFalexm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi,
Sorry you wern't happy, but must explain...
There is free Wifi, and has been except for a couple of weeks at Xmas.... You needed only come to office for password for an hour free access with NO data cap.
As far as I know, EVERY NZ Holiday Park charges extra for laundry machines, and many charge $4/machine. Ours are $3/machine, and clothes lines are provided for those who don't wish to pay for dryers.
We ask guests to limit their showers to 6 minutes as an alternative to coin operated showers...most appreciate this way and manage easily in 6 minutes.
The Holiday Park and the Butterfly house share signposts, and are located at the same address, but are not the same business, however, this summer the Butterfly House has kindly offered a discount to Dickson Park guests. This beautiful facility is a bargain at full price, one of the major attractions on the Coromandel, not to be missed wether you stay with us or not!. Thanks for taking the trouble to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thames hotels

England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Turned up to this site purely and simply because it advertised wifi and I had an important date with my granddaughter, and lo and behold, no wifi, apparently it hadn't worked since before Xmas, but, to give the guy his fair dues, he allowed me 10 minutes hopping on his own personal pc, so I did get to say hello!
The place needs a womans touch, a jolly good clean would not go amiss, but overall it's ok, we've stayed in worse!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fovant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Beautiful site, on a stream, among trees. Slightly tired buildings and some impressively old and tatty 1960s caravans, presumably privately owned and not for hire. Well worth a visit if only for the amusingly wordy rules and regs, as well as the many and various notices posted all over. These refer often to customers as idiots - driving in the park, diving in the pool, posting the wrong sort of rubbish in the wrong sort of bin, generally cluttering up the place and deliberately annoying the owner. All thoroughly amusing, but mainly on reflection - having only read the hysterical diatribe in the wonderfully overwritten rules on the road after leaving the site. It didn't take anything away from the experience, but if we had read the rules beforehand, it would have been tempting to have broken a few, just to see how close to Fawlty the management would have turned out to be. Not an overly hospitable set up but good value, and even better value if caught playing table football after dusk or not supervising the kids away from the kitchen, or generally standing out from the crowd. Highly recommended. Especially for those needing control over daily functions. Better for cleaner, less smelly loos, but I guess this was down to unruly pesky guests. Or idiots, as guests seem to be regarded here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
303 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Location great, facilities good (didn't check out the butterfly and orchid area). Proper litte sun trap! Owner friendly. Downside - the various publications that you pick up for free all over NZ touted this site as having free wifi which it didn't. Not only that the printed up leaflets (from the camp office) stated it was broken and thus you can't use it but surely that should only be a temporary thing and not something you get to print up in camp instructions! Come to that there were a lot of rules and regulations on an A4 sheet we were given and all over the facilities. Good point - leaflet recycling zone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a quiet Holiday Park which is located North of Thames next to a small river. It is clean and contains all you desire (swimming pool, game room, book exchange, reading room, BBQ area, pizza oven, kitchen). Another plus is that the hot water of the shower is included in the price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Geoff has a very good knowledge of the area and likes to share it with you if ask. The lovely butterfly house is next door and a nice bushwalk starts at the entrance of the Holiday Park. It is a good place to stay and relax

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here last year in December and the boss helped us so much, because we had a little car accident during the day and something on the car was broken! It is a very nice place in Coromandel with a nice kitchen, clean facilities and the awesome Butterfly House :) Thank you again so much for your help!!!!! :)

Room Tip: Camp site is great, with lovely ducks :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
3.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
12.2 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 13 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickson Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickson Holiday Park

Property: Dickson Holiday Park
Address: 115 Victoria Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dickson Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing