We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of Brookby Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brookby Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed 1 night in Room 6, a beautiful "historical "room with nice furniture and French doors to a small deck at the front. Very tastefully decorated. Would certainly highly recommend. Great value for the money. Very well equipped.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

This delightful motel is on the hill, 8 minute walk from the town, in lovely bush surrounding. We were in a 1 bedroom which was very clean, cosy with a huge, comfortable double bed and good size bathroom. There was a balcony at the back, with a table, chairs and umbrella, just lovely. We spent 2 nights there, dined at the Bullion one evening, which was very disappointing, set menu without notification, dry fish main on a blob of rice - wouldn't go back. Also dined at Gastronomics which was lovely, wine a bit expensive though. Noticed the BYO Thai Restaurant was packed! Thames is a nice little town, very clean with interesting shops, a good walking/cycling path round the water and an easy dry to Coromandel town. The drive was spectacular and the town lovely. Thames is also close to Miranda - The Seabird Coast which is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This proved just perfect for our overnight stay en route to Auckland. It's just far enough from the hub of town to provide a haven of peace and tranquility but not so far that we couldn't comfortably walk into town to dine at Bullion in the main street. Our little 'flat' was clean, comfortable and spacious. Just right. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We only stayed for the one night but the sun was shining and we really enjoyed the lovely garden setting - and listening to the bird song. We found the property to be very clean, recently decorated, and well equipped units with nice big beds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaiyanandHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We recently stayed at Brookby Motel following a sudden family bereavement. Barbara our hostess was very kind ,thoughtful and went the extra mile to help. She provided accommodation at sudden notice for extra family members too. Our motel was beautifully clean and comfortable. It met all our requirements. The setting of the stream with bush nearby and the lovely bird song gave us the tranquility we needed at this particular time. Parking was close to our door and access easy. A very warm 'Thankyou' Barbara for providing affordable, pleasant accommodation in such a beautiful setting which is within easy walking distance to the main street with all its shops and the hospital too.

Room Tip: We prefer end units which get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed for one night and found it comfortable and relaxing .
Barbara booked us in quickly and provided us with a jug of milk ( for a welcome cup of tea ) and some biscuits .
The room was clean and comfortable and a good size . There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs at the back , and this was used later ,to sit and enjoy the sound of the nearby brook and have a quiet drink .
It is situated within easy walking distance of Thames , and is ideal for a quiet break away .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_freeman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We decided to travel to the coromandel, and Thames was our first stop on the way, we discovered Brookby Motel by chance, very clean motel, and comfortable bed. Thank you Barbara, you do a wonderful job.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookby Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookby Motel

Address: 102 Redwood Lane, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful bush setting off the main road yet only a 5 minute stroll to the main street for shopping and restaurants. 4 X 1-brm units with full kitchens; 2 x studios with microwave and tea/coffee-making facilities. Guest Select SKY TV offering 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brookby Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing