We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brookby motel Thames”
Review of Brookby Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brookby Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Our unit had everything we needed including a little patio out the back. Could hear and see the brook running. The complimentary morning paper was a plus - just remember to order it at night. The host, Yvonne was extremely helpful. The location ideal, close to shops but extremely quiet. Would highly recommend this motel. Jennifer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The motel is situated a bit off the main road and the village centre and therefore very quiet. Our unit, which featured a double bed, a kitchen, a bathroom and a sunny terrace facing the gardens and a little river in the back was absolutely spotless and we enjoyed our time here very much. The hosts were very friendly and helpful – they’ve just taken over the place and are looking after it with great care and an eye for the details that make travellers happy – we are really looking forward to see what the future brings to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tucked away off Karaka Road is this small motel complex which borders the creek. It has a total of 5 rooms and we stayed in the smallest studio ($90). The rest of the rooms were bigger.

It was peaceful, quiet and you could hear the creek and the birds... And even though our room was small it was beautfully appointed with everything you need and immaculately clean! The bed and pillows were comfy. The owner was very nice and we got milk in a jug, not a carton (I thought that was a nice touch). The shower was well pressured and the soaps, moisturiser etc lovely too.

The walk into town was only 5-10 minutes, so even though it felt out of the way, it really wasn't.

Room Tip: 4 rooms have a balcony, the smallest one in the middle didn't. Owner was more than happy to sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby68641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here in April 2014, for 3 nights in a standard unit. The motel is of an older style and in need of some updating. It is located within walking distance of the town centre and the hospital. There are gardens at the back and the unit had its own deck with table and chairs. The unit was clean, the beds comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. A downside was noise transmitted from the adjacent unit. The hostess was helpful with good knowledge of the area, although since our stay we understand that the motel may have new management.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tandemtravelrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We loved our 1 night stay at the Brookby. It was close enough to the shopping area and restaurants but still quiet. The room was lovely and decorated in heritage style with stained glass accents, high ceilings and French doors to a pretty deck in the garden. The bathroom was clean, bed comfortable and hostess pleasant and efficient. The atmosphere was very homey and cosy. 5*

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed 1 night in Room 6, a beautiful "historical "room with nice furniture and French doors to a small deck at the front. Very tastefully decorated. Would certainly highly recommend. Great value for the money. Very well equipped.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This delightful motel is on the hill, 8 minute walk from the town, in lovely bush surrounding. We were in a 1 bedroom which was very clean, cosy with a huge, comfortable double bed and good size bathroom. There was a balcony at the back, with a table, chairs and umbrella, just lovely. We spent 2 nights there, dined at the Bullion one evening, which was very disappointing, set menu without notification, dry fish main on a blob of rice - wouldn't go back. Also dined at Gastronomics which was lovely, wine a bit expensive though. Noticed the BYO Thai Restaurant was packed! Thames is a nice little town, very clean with interesting shops, a good walking/cycling path round the water and an easy dry to Coromandel town. The drive was spectacular and the town lovely. Thames is also close to Miranda - The Seabird Coast which is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookby Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookby Motel

Address: 102 Redwood Lane, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: £52 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful bush setting off the main road yet only a 5 minute stroll to the main street for shopping and restaurants. 4 X 1-brm units with full kitchens; 2 x studios with microwave and tea/coffee-making facilities. Guest Select SKY TV offering 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brookby Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing